Skip to content

Shannon’s 30 for 30, Week 1

February 7, 2011

Well, I’ve got my first 30 for 30 update, but I have a confession. I’m not counting Sunday’s outfit — not because I deviated from my 30 items, but because it consisted of workout gear for my NYRR 4-miler race, and then just my favorite black skinny pants with the free race T-shirt. (My Super Bowl plans consisted of eating lots of cheese with Jenny while we posted snarky observations on Twitter. And I didn’t really feel the need to impress her.) (Sorry, Jenny.)

Anyway.

I posted Day 1 of my 30 for 30 last week, so here’s 2 through 6. And, just for kicks, Sunday’s race outfit.

Leopard shirt: Thrifted
Lace dress: Target
Boots: Clarks

OK, I loved this outfit. Like, a lot. As soon as I put together my 30 items, I knew I was going to wear this combo of lace dress + leopard print shirt. I didn’t really feel the need to accessorize too much because of all the patterns and textures going on.

Sweater: Sample sale
Dress: H&M
Boots: Clarks
Necklace: gift

My only thought on this outfit: Meh. Sure, it was comfy, but I feel like it was adding unneeded bulk around my hips (seriously, I don’t need more fabric there). However, I did wear my favorite necklace, so there’s that.

Purple top: Target
Cardigan: Gap
Black pants: Gap
Boots: Clarks

(You guys thought I was kidding about wearing those boots every day? I wasn’t.) This outfit was fine for a Friday. I did swap out the cardigan for my favorite black cropped leather jacket for the obligatory post-work outing. And yes, I still need a haircut.

Black top: Old Navy
Black pants: Gap
Boots: Clarks
Hat: H&M
Scarf: Beacon’s Closet

Wow, black-on-black-on-black. A combo you guys have never seen me wear. However, in my defense, it was drizzly and windy all day on Saturday here in NYC and I had errands to run. I’m doing this new thing where I don’t buy a monthly MetroCard (because I live 18 blocks from work and don’t want to shell out $105 every 30 days), so I ended up walking all over the city to accomplish said errands. This was probably the second time I’ve worn this hat (because normally it makes my bangs all messed up), and I’m not gonna lie … I don’t hate it.

So, just for fun, here’s what I wore for Sunday’s NYRR Gridiron Classic. Since the race is on Super Bowl Sunday every year, people generally sport their football gear. (No joke, some dude ran in full Packers gear – pads, helmet and all!) My uncle — who I ran with for the first 3 miles — graciously loaned me a Chicago Bears jersey but the sleeves were past my elbows so I made the executive decision to wear my New York Giants shirt, courtesy of an NFLShop.com birthday gift card from PK. (Also, I ended up being waaaay overdressed and removed my unpictured gloves halfway through. It was like 38 degrees here Sunday morning — basically a heat wave!)

(Also, I just realized my headphone cord is in the photo on the right. Oops.)

Black cardigan: Gap
White top: Gap
Blue jeans: Gap
Leopard flats: Target
Necklace: Gift

Finalllly here’s today’s outfit. I liked this outfit in theory but that white shirt is way too billowy. I tried belting the whole thing this morning before my walk to work but I felt funny wearing two belts (one around my waist, one for my jeans). Also, even though I love those leopard flats, they’re so unsupportive I might as well walk around Manhattan barefoot. (Ew.) (I won’t do that.) (Ever.)

Any thoughts, suggestions, critiques?

P.S. My cognac boots are at the shoe repair store and I’m planning on picking them up tomorrow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 9:53 am

    yay, 30 for 30! i’m kinda sad not to be doing it this time around so i’m just going to be living through you and melanie.

    i like the billowy shirt all billowy 🙂 and, yes, those flats are MISERABLE for a whole day of walking. also… rain. do not, i repeat, do not attempt to wear them in rain. your feet will be sad and soppy all day long.

    • February 9, 2011 10:28 am

      I like the billowy shirt, too, but it just made me feel … large … after awhile. I don’t know, maybe that doesn’t make sense.

      Those flats really are not the best. But I just love the leopard print!

Leave a Reply

