Skip to content

Famous Last Words (7-14)

February 16, 2011

Last week, I was on top of my 30 for 30 game. I loved all of my outfits and they were all interesting combinations that I’d never worn before. (You know, the whole point of the challenge.) This Monday, though, I found myself almost wearing the exact same outfit I wore on Feb. 4. (Hence the title of my post. Never say something is easy — it’ll come back to haunt you.)

Regardless, here are my outfits from the last week. Sunday consisted of going to the gym and doing laundry, so no outfit for that day. But! I have two outfits from Saturday so it all balances out.

Zebra cardigan: F21
Black tank: Limited
Purple skirt: Zara, thrifted
Boots: Clarks
Belt: H&M
Necklace: F21

Loved this outfit. Loved, loved, loved. I’m really feeling purple with animal print lately. No idea why.

Blazer: Target
Lace top: Target
Black floral dress (as skirt): F21
Cognac boots: Target

So, so glad to have my boots back in good condition! This was comfortable and definitely a combo I’d never worn before.


Gray cardigan: Gap
Print top: H&M
Black ruffled skirt: Target
Boots: Clarks

No idea why I hadn’t worn this combo before. I rarely wear this skirt for some reason, which is why I included it in my 30 items. I also haven’t worn that top in awhile, and I think the long cardigan made this more work appropriate.

Leather jacket: thrifted (Beacon’s Closet)
Gray top: thrifted, Kenneth Cole
Shorts: F21
Boots: Clarks

This was a good outfit for a Friday. I actually wore a black cardigan at work instead of the leather jacket, but I swapped out when it was time to go out after work. (The cardigan-to-leather-jacket switch is my go-to look for the end of the week.) I know some people don’t like the shorts + tights combo, but I think it’s super comfortable.

Black cardigan: Gap
Turquoise dress: Ross
Cognac boots: Target
Belt: H&M

Easy outfit for a birthday brunch in Brooklyn. (Happy birthday again to Valentine babies Jenny, Emilia and Carla!) I used to wear this outfit a lot but have stopped wearing this dress for some reason. Regardless, it’s pretty comfortable and it was an easy outfit.

Leather jacket: Thrifted (Beacon’s Closet)
Sequin dress: Modcloth
Boots: Clarks
Necklace: Modcloth

I busted out the sequin dress for the first time so far for drinks on Saturday night. We hit up a new (to me) bar downtown and had a blast people-watching. Drama, drama, drama…

Black top: Old Navy
Skinny jeans: Gap
Leopard flats: Target

This was the day I accidentally almost repeated an outfit. I was running late to work so I threw on the easiest thing possible. Not the most flattering combo and I didn’t exactly feel cute but it was fine for work and “celebrating” Valentine’s Day with drinks with some coworkers.

Black cardigan: Gap
Lace dress: Target
Boots: Clarks
Belt: H&M

I really really really love this lace dress from Target. It’s just one of those things that always puts me in a good mood when I wear it. It was cold today so I wore the boots instead of the planned leopard flats.

So. I’m just about halfway done with the 30 for 30 and although it’s getting to be a bit more of a challenge, I don’t think it’ll be a huge issue to finish it up. I have to say, though, I was catching up on my fashion magazines last weekend and it got me thinking about all kinds of new things I want to buy and wear. Katy‘s coming to visit me this weekend and I’m pretty sure I’m going to break that whole no-shopping thing. It’s a special occasion!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    February 16, 2011 10:48 am

    I know what you mean about wanting to shop! Seeing what everyone else is coming up with (and the fact that it’s turning into spring here), makes me way to buy pretty things.

    • February 16, 2011 2:23 pm

      Yeah I’m ready to hop on the wide-leg jeans bandwagon. I also have an H&M gift card burning a hole in my wallet. Thinking I’ll use that for new bikinis for Vegas. 🙂

  2. February 16, 2011 10:25 pm

    I am totally in love with your zebra print cardigan!!! And your leather jacket is fantastic, too.

    P.S. Nice to meet a fellow Shannon!

    • February 17, 2011 10:01 am

      Thanks so much! That leather jacket may be my favorite thrift store find yet!

      P.S. Love your blog! Your 30 for 30 is coming along better than mine, it looks like. 🙂

  3. February 20, 2011 8:23 am

    i especially love the first three outfits here and the one with the turquoise dress is a fave, too… looks comfy! good 30-for-30-ing!

Leave a Reply

