Skip to content

Are we there yet? (Shannon’s 15-22)

February 23, 2011

So. I’m officially over 30 for 30. I’m at the point where all my outfits look the same. (Yeah, I know, I shouldn’t have picked 5 different black dresses.) However, I have swapped out two dresses I haven’t worn and added in two pairs of (new) heels that were worn last week. I’m a 30×30 failure, OK? Regardless, here are my outfits from the past week.

(Full disclosure: I’m starting with Thursday instead of Wednesday because I like this outfit better and I don’t want Wednesday’s to be the thumbnail on Facebook. Yes, I over-thought this.)

Blazer (L): Target
Sequin dress: Modcloth
Leopard flats (L): Target
Black pumps (R): Guess
Locket necklace: Modcloth

I decided to go all out for a friend’s post-work birthday party and donned the sequin dress all day at work. I really like this piece; it’s comfortable and I honestly didn’t feel overdressed at work with the flats and blazer.

White top: Gap
Purple skirt: Zara, thrifted
Leopard flats: Target

This outfit was meh. I think I threw a black cardigan on over it when I was cold at the office all day. I have a love/hate relationship with that skirt; I think it would look better with heels.Floral dress: Kinder Aggugini for Macy’s (Macy’s is a client)
Black wedges: Charles David via Rue La La
Belt: H&M

Here’s how you look presentable at the office the day after a party everyone you work with attended: rock the top knot so you don’t have to wash your hair, throw on a pseudo-wrap dress, tights and fun shoes and try to enjoy the 65-degree-weather-in-February while chugging water, coffee and Advil

Black cardigan: Gap
Print top: H&M
Black skinny jeans: Gap
Black boots: Clarks
Red bangle: gifted (from Melanie!)

I don’t know why I make such weird faces. I wore this out shopping on the Upper West Side on Saturday. Lots of fun new makeup (I love you, Sephora!) and a new jacket. I know technically I’m not supposed to shop during the challenge, but let’s face it — that ship has sailed.

Black leather jacket: Thrifted
Black lace dress: Target
Cognac boots: Target
Necklace: gifted
Red scarf: gifted
Faux leopard coat: Thrifted (Buffalo’s Exchange)
Purse: Betsey Johnson via Rue La La

Have I told you guys how much I love my thrifted leopard coat? (This was also referred to by someone as my “attention coat” last weekend.) I think it strikes the perfect balance between tacky and classy, and I really like it paired with my Valentine’s Day present from my parents. (Thanks for the scarf, Mom and Dad!) I got that leopard coat back in December and I’ve only worn it a handful of times but I’m going to make an effort to wear it more often. It just puts me in a good mood.

Red scarf: gift
Leather coat: Thrifted
Lace top: Target
Black tank: The Limited
Black skinny jeans: Gap
Cognac boots: Target

Easy outfit (which I’m pretty sure I’ve worn in some capacity, minus the scarf and maybe the jacket) for a Sunday lunch. I really didn’t do much that day except eat Thai food and then go to yoga, so I don’t have a whole lot else to say.

Hat: H&M
Military-style jacket: Gap
Black skinny jeans: Gap
Cognac boots: Target

This coat was my one awesome find at the Gap while I was out shopping last weekend. I really like the military-inspired look and yes, I definitely rocked my aviators to complete the look for my walk down to Murray Hill for lunch and a movie. I really like this one for some reason; it was comfortable for a day off (what up, Presidents Day).

Leopard print top: Vintage, thrifted in Chicago
Black bubble dress (as skirt): H&M
Black boots: Clarks

I have just six words to say about this: Really comfortable but kind of boring.

Seriously, is this challenge over? I keep staring at the rest of my clothes and dreaming up new ways to wear those items. I’m ready for this whole thing to be over.

If you’re doing 30 for 30, how is the challenge coming for you so far?

(Also, I’d like to apologize for my horrible iPhone photos. The lighting is terrible in my apartment in the mornings, I have no one to take my photo, I’m always scrambling to get out the door and I can’t take them at night because I’m either at the gym or going out. OK, I’m done making excuses now.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam permalink
    February 23, 2011 9:39 am

    I loved loved your Kinder dress! Just had to share that lol

    • February 23, 2011 9:51 am

      Thanks! It’s definitely going to be a staple come spring. 🙂

  2. taylordahl permalink
    February 24, 2011 9:37 pm

    I love the Kinder Aggugini dress! I’ve never heard of that designer, but must see more!! Also, I almost bought the Gap jacket last weekend during a marathon trip to the Gap. After four tops and a skirt, I had to show SOME restraint. Loved the post!

    • February 24, 2011 9:49 pm

      Thanks, Taylor! I definitely recommend checking out the rest of the Kinder line. I hadn’t heard of him before the Macy’s line either, but I’m definitely a fan now. He’s worked with Versace and other amazing designers in the past.

      (Again, for disclosure, Macy’s is a client but all opinions are my own.)

  3. March 3, 2011 8:25 pm

    Love the Kinder dress! And I’m with you on the top knot. It has saved me many, many times.

Leave a Reply

