Skip to content

What’s in my makeup bag?

February 28, 2011

Apparently it is makeup month here at Thrifty Threads. I swear before both Jenny and Katy posted about their favorite products, I had a post drafted with just a random list of makeup I like. Then they went and stole my thunder. But! My list is (mostly) different — and that’s where it gets interesting, right?

This is probably only half of my collection. I have another makeup bag that gets toted around to work and in my purse.

Although I finally started getting into makeup less than a year ago, I’ve amassed a pretty decent collection (at least, I think it is). And I’ve definitely tried a lot of products. So, here are my staples for each category.

Moisturizer: Philosophy Hope in a Jar, $30-60

This is hands down my favorite product. Bold statement, I know. I have insanely dry skin (yes, even in the summer), and this stuff is the best. I prefer the regular formula as opposed to the one specific for dry skin. I don’t know why. It’s so creamy without being heavy and I swear it evens my skin tone. Maybe that’s in my head, but seriously this stuff rocks.

Night cream: Olay Anti-Wrinkle Replenishing Cream, $17ish

Yes, I use night cream. I don’t want wrinkles, you guys! I just use drugstore brand Olay because I don’t really feel like spending $60 or whatever on night cream at age 23, but I like this stuff. It’s a little thicker than my everyday moisturizer, and it makes my skin supersoft in the morning.

Eye Cream: Philosophy Eye Hope, $48

Yes, I also use eye cream. I just put a tiny amount around both eyes (almost) every night. I honestly don’t really know if it makes a difference, and when I run out of this one I’ll probably buy a cheaper brand (most likely Olay). But it can’t hurt!

Moisturizer, part 2: Clarins Beauty Flash Balm, $45

This cream is great to put over my regular moisturizer but under my regular makeup after those really late nights. It brightens up my whole face and I’m really bummed that my current container is almost empty because it’s kind of pricey. For awhile I was using it every day and then I realized it would be fine to just use on those super-rough mornings (you know what I’m talking about).

Foundation/makeup: Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer, $42

I hate myself a little for spending $42 on tinted moisturizer, but I received a sample of this stuff back in September and I swear it’s amazing. I don’t like heavy makeup and, as I mentioned before, my skin is really dry. So using a tinted moisturizer as my normal makeup works just fine, even after applying regular moisturizer. (How many times can I use the word “moisturizer” in this post?)

Concealer: Benefit Stay Don’t Stray ($24) and Erase Paste ($26, not pictured)

I just bought this Benefit stuff a few weekends ago and I really love Stay Don’t Stray. I originally didn’t want to buy something labeled eye makeup primer because I don’t really wear eye makeup (save eyeliner) and I figured it was a waste of money. But this stuff covers up the purple veins visible on my eyelids and really brightens up the eye area. I also started using Benefit’s Erase Paste on blemishes and I like it OK — it tends to get dry sometimes. I still occasionally go back to Bobbi Brown’s concealer ($22), which was a recommendation from a reader last spring. Also, I bought YSL Touche Eclat (4$0) but I don’t know how to use illuminator. Can someone enlighten me? (Pun intended.)

Mascara: Toss-up

I’m going to be honest: I haven’t really found a mascara I’m head-over-heels for. Don’t get me wrong, I love mascara and it’s probably the one makeup item I never leave home without putting on. I’ve used everything from Maybelline Great Lash (all hail the pink and green tube!) to Dior Iconic ($28). Somewhere in that mix was Clinique and Benefit. I loved Benefit’s Bad Gal ($19) but it seriously got everywhere – under my eyes, around my eyes – total raccoon face. I’m going to take a few of Katy’s suggestions, though.

Multitasker: Benefit Benetint, $28

This thing is in every beauty mag, so I won’t wax poetic. But I love that I can use it my lips and cheeks in a pinch.

Brows: Smashbox, $24

This is something neither one of my fellow co-bloggers discussed. A few weeks ago, my bangs were butchered by a stylist downtown so I have to pin them back every day now. Not only does this mean I have to tweeze on a regular basis (annoying!), it also means I have to use my brow fill. I like Smashbox because it’s easy to use and helps me define my brows a bit more. In the interest of full disclosure this is the only brow stuff I’ve ever used but I imagine others are adequate as well.

Blush: NARS Orgasm, $27

Yes, I’m totally on the bandwagon with this one. I know $27 sucks for blush but I swear it lasts forever and all the fashion and beauty magazines in the world are not wrong on this one. (Also, I recently got a special NARS gift set for myself which included Orgasm and Super Orgasm blushes. Super Orgasm is pinker and sparklier than its counterpart, and I think I like it even more than original Orgasm.) (Ha.)

Bronzer: Benefit One Hot Minute, $30

This stuff is shimmery without being totally glittery, so I can add some glow without looking like a Vegas showgirl. Highly recommended.

Pressed Powder: Maybelline Fit Me, $9ish

Speaking of fashion mags, all the January issues were going gaga for Maybelline’s new Fit Me line, which is supposed to be really accurate in matching skin tone. I decided to pick up their pressed powder a few weeks ago and so far I really like it. It’s been great for post-work touch-ups before going out and helps tone down the inevitable shine that happens daily.

Perfume: Marc Jacobs Lola, $48

Obviously this is a really personal thing. But for Christmas, my mom got me that Sephora sampler that included 12 awesome perfume samples and a voucher for a full-size one. I picked Lola (not just because of the awesome bottle). Love it.

Lipstick: Bobbi Brown Lip Color, $22

I’ve been getting into red lipstick more and more lately. I really like this one. Honestly, I haven’t tried a lot of lipsticks so I have no steadfast reasons for recommending it, but it seems to hold pigment well. This color is Brick Red.

Lip balm: Rosebud Salve, $7

As Jenny already discussed, she and I are currently obsessed with these $7 tins (and tubes) of shine. We got ours at American Apparel and I got this tube at Sephora the last time I was there. They’re in those little containers by the registers that tempt you while you stand in line.

Not Pictured:

Eyeliner: Clinique Quickliner for Eyes, $15

Confession: I didn’t know how to use eyeliner until I was 21 years old. My younger sister had to show me. It always intimidated me and I didn’t really care about it. Now, though, I generally wear black on my top lid only daily, and if I’m going out at night, I’ll line my whole eye. I know some people think black is too severe for every day use, but I think only lining my top eye helps tone it down. Plus I have dark hair and light eyes, so black helps them stand out more. (Also, I will be trying Cover Girl’s Perfect Point Plus on the recommendation of several people.)

Eyeshadow: Toss-up

I rarely wear eyeshadow. I know, I know, MAC is supposed to be awesome, etc etc… I have a few Revlon cream eyeshadow quads I really like, and some Smashbox colors as well. But most days I just can’t be bothered.

Phew. Who knew I had more than 1000 words about makeup in me?

Now. Who can recommend a good mascara for me? Also, tell me – why should I wear eyeshadow?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    February 28, 2011 10:19 pm

    What sort of lash look are you going for? I got a sample of a Bare Mineral mascara in this month’s Birchbox that I really like. It gives me a lot of volume without looking super clumpy and such.

    As for eyeshadow, I don’t think I can leave my apartment without any on. I just think it really enhances my eyes. It is sort of hard to explain, but when you visit me in a few weeks, maybe I will make you wear some…

    • March 1, 2011 10:59 am

      Lash look? I don’t know. I just want them longer and full. Are there multiple styles for eyelashes to look? I don’t understand all that “voluminous” etc wording.

      Seriously, I don’t like eyeshadow! I rarely wear it when I go out at night. I just like eyeliner and (lately) red lipstick. Can’t wait to visit you though!!!!

      • Katy permalink*
        March 1, 2011 11:48 am

        Also the Touch Eclat (or whatever) can be like an undereye brightener…put it on before you put on your concealer. Or put it on the tops of your cheekbones or something.

  2. March 1, 2011 10:55 am

    I must find rose salve in a tube because I love it but hate sticking my finger in a tin.

    • March 1, 2011 11:00 am

      I feel the same way! I still love the tin but the tube is definitely useful. I find that it’s a little harder to squeeze out of the tube than other lip glosses or balms, though.

  3. Melanie permalink*
    March 1, 2011 9:42 pm

    I love eyeshadow. I don’t feel like my eyes are complete without it – even though I mostly just wear taupe. I guess I just feel like there need to be a bit of slightly darker color there.

    I don’t wear bronzer or blush. Am I missing something?

    I’ve totally been wearing Marc Jacobs Lola too! I’ve never really been a perfume person until I started getting the free samples with my Sephora orders. Then I fell in love with Prada L’eau Ambrée, but it’s very pricey to buy. With my next order, Lola was one that I got, and I think it’s perfect for warming weather. I’ve even been thinking about buying the real thing, much more affordable than Prada.

    • March 2, 2011 9:55 am

      I don’t know, I guess I just feel like liner and mascara is enough for everyday wear?

      I didn’t wear blush until last April, after my first Sephora-spree. I bought NARS Orgasm and it really makes a difference, but mostly during winter. If I’m tan in the summer I usually don’t bother.

      Too funny about Lola! It was my favorite out of the 12 perfumes in the sampler, but my absolute favorite is Viktor and Rolf Flowerbomb. It’s floral without being TOO girly and really fresh. Lola is definitely more affordable than Flowerbomb, which is like $100. I may have to splurge after I use up Lola and my … um … 24 samples. I like to collect them. Haha.

  4. March 2, 2011 9:50 am

    I’ve had a bottle of Benetint for almost three years! Love that it lasts forever, but I wish the color would last longer when I use it on my lips.

    • March 2, 2011 9:56 am

      You’re right, it doesn’t last TOO terribly long. But I think of it as more of a tint rather than anything else, so I just expect it to give me a little bit of color as a base.

Trackbacks

  1. More Makeup Madness « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

