Skip to content

More Makeup Madness

March 10, 2011

Since the other Thrifty Threads ladies have detailed their top makeup picks (here, here and here), I figured I’d share mine too, as my routine is a bit different.

Moisturizer: Noah’s Naturals, $10ish

Let me start out by noting that my skin is almost never dry. It’s actually quite oily, which I’m told is the reason I’ve rarely had any breakouts. I picked this up about a year ago from Walmart, and I still have a decent amount left. I think the look of the packaging has since changed (thus the only poor-quality image I could find). Anyway, I chose this product because it has no parabens, no sodium lauryl sulfate and no propylene glycol. As many of you already know, I tend toward eco-friendly products, and I have no complaints about this one.

Primer: bareMinerals Prime Time, $14

I was skeptical, but I really enjoy primer. This came in the Bare Escentuals starter kit I purchased at Sephora almost a year ago. I put it on after my moisturizer, because I feel like it takes out some of the shine of the moisturizer, leaving the moisture. It seems to make my skin feel more matte-like, helping the foundation stick like it’s supposed to.

Foundation: bareMinerals Matte, $28

Once again, I first starting using bareMinerals with the starter kit, and I LOVE it! I use a small brush and use it as a concealer as well. I love how natural it is, but it still gives great coverage and makes my face feel softer at the same time. I also love that the latest one I got (first full size one after starter kit) has a lid cover, so when I inevitably drop it, I don’t have to try and get all the powder back into the bottom portion of the container.

Finishing: bareMinerals Mineral Veil, $19-30 (depending on size)

I also was introduced to this item in my starter kit. (And I did choose Bare Escentuals for its eco-friendly qualities.) I put it on after everything else except eyeliner and mascara because it hold everything in place, helps keep shine under control, and adds more softness.

Eyeshadow: Maybelline, $5ish

Eyeshadow was the first makeup I started wearing regularly, and Maybelline has always been my go-to. I don’t really know why because really, I’m not that picky. All I can figure out is it’s the colors that caught my eye or the packaging. Either way, I think it works just fine. The two colors pictured above are the ones I wear regularly (cocoa and earthy taupe).

Eyeshadow: Smashbox Style Files, free as Sephora 100-point reward

Since I received this reward (also included eyeliner set and lip color set), I’ve been using some of these more exciting colors when I have evening plans or a special event. They’re definitely fun to play with.

Eyeliner: CoverGirl Perfect Point Plus, $6ish

Like Jenny mentioned, this eyeliner is a great deal. I too have been using this one since early on; however, I’ve never tried any other (well, other than the pencil kind, but I’m not a fan). I usually wear gray or a dark brown for normal wear, but I’ll occasionally break out the black. I also sometimes go through times when i don’t wear any eyeliner.

Mascara: bareMinerals Flawless Definition (Waterproof), $18

First of all, I haven’t figured out why anyone makes non-waterproof mascara. I guess it’s easier to remove, but I only ever wear waterproof cause you just never know when you’ll need a good cry, be out in the rain, or simply experience some seriously humid weather. That being said, I bought this mascara at the same time as my bareMinerals starter kit, so I’ve been using it for almost a year now. To be honest, I don’t notice much difference in my lashes (I’ve used CoverGirl and Maybelline previously), but I do notice this once has clumped less on the brush. Will I buy it again? It’s still a toss-up because of the price, but I’ll consider it.

Fragrance: Marc Jacobs Lola, free sample with Sephora order

Shannon already talked about this fragrance. I’m also considering purchasing the real thing because I really like this one and the price isn’t outrageous. I think it’s a great spring/summer scent.

Fragrance: Prada L’eau Ambrée, free sample with Sephora order

Before Lola, I’d already fallen for this sample. In my opinion, it’s more of a fall/winter scent, but I really love it. Unfortunately, though, it may be out of my price range – it is Prada after all. Maybe I’ll just find a smaller version when this one runs out, unless I find something else I like as much that is more affordable in the meantime.

So that’s my makeup regimen by category. As you’ve probably noticed, I have no bronzer or blush listed. That’s because I don’t use either. I have a CoverGirl blush I use very rarely in the winter, but I’ve never used bronzer.

You tell me, am I missing out on something?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

