Skip to content

Back in black

March 22, 2011
tags: ,
by

Let’s discuss.

I’m sure some of y’all remember awhile back when I wrote a post detailing how I wanted to deviate from my love of Target flats. I wanted to try a more expensive brand to see if they lasted any longer, since I wear black flats…to…death. I invested (well, a $50 investment) in these beauties from Chinese Laundry about six months ago. And I’m sad to say…they are already dying a slow death.

CIMG3047

I got these Chinese Laundry flats from DSW in September, and they are already falling apart. Now, I’m not like running marathons in these, but I do wear them a few times a week. The bottom sole is already coming off and, I’m not sure how, but there is a hole forming in the heel. I’m sure this has something to do with how I walk (maybe), but shouldn’t higher quality shoes be able to last through what most would consider to be normal wear and tear?

So I am asking everyone for help. I don’t want to go back to Target flats and, shock horror, am actually considering spending a bit of money on a pair of flats if they will last me awhile. I’m looking for suggestions, as I’m not entirely sure what route I should take. Tory Burch? Steve Madden? Michael Kors? Help!

I gave up shopping for Lent, so I have plenty of time to research this. And let’s just hope my flats make it through Easter.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. bohemianchicka permalink
    March 22, 2011 1:40 pm

    I have been wearing my black Steve Madden flats for YEARS, and although the inside is just now fraying a little, they’ve been amazing. Super comfortable and cute. Probably lasted me about 6 years, I’ve just started looking for a new pair. They often have them at Ross or TJMax for a lot less also too.

    Make sure to polish the leather to keep it looking spiffy.

    Also- I love Target flats as well, and I’ve found them to stay more comfortable/last slightly longer with those cheap cushiony insoles. You just cut them to fit the size of your shoe, and stick them in. Since the Target soles are usually so thin, it helps make them “feel” thicker.

  2. Julia permalink
    March 22, 2011 1:59 pm

    A couple of weeks ago, Target had their flats on sale! I bought two pairs of the same shoe. I actually bought the shoe the Saturday before they went on sale and plan on returning… So.. I have 3 pairs of the same shoe. I wear mine a couple of days a week, but for $8 per shoe I couldn’t help myself.

  3. Taylor permalink
    March 22, 2011 11:19 pm

    Katy! You know I love me some flats. My favorites are Steve Madden (lasted me about 2 years) and Ann Taylor Loft. I too am in between black flats at the moment, I’m wearing a pair of $6 Merona flats until I can find a sturdier pair I absolutely love. I’m going to check out the Gap’s City Flat this weekend. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  4. March 27, 2011 3:24 pm

    As much as I covet Target shoes, I am very careful about my selections for the reasons you listed. They fall apart very quickly.
    I have two pairs of blacks flats (one pointy toe and one rounded toe) that I got from Steve Madden somewhere in the vicinity of 2005, and they’re in excellent shape. But they’re both all leather with a rubber sole and you can tell they’re really well made. For a black flat you want to last, I’d suggest being conscious of the materials used in the shoe. Leather wears a bit better than synthetics, so I might suggest going with a full leather shoe. I paid about $70 for one pair and I got the others for free in some ridiculous buy-one-get-one deal they had back in the day.
    I think ultimately, the brand is much less important than the make and materials. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

