Skip to content

Texas Forever

March 24, 2011

Last week, I watched the Friday Night Lights series finale (don’t worry, no spoilers here). Being a native Texan who also thoroughly enjoyed FNL, I thought I’d channel the feel of the show in this look. Plus, I got to work in a couple of new items.

Dress: Free People (via T.J.Maxx, $40)
Purse: Steve Madden (via T.J.Maxx, $15)
Denim jacket: Kohl’s (circa 1999)
Boots: Target

I love this Free People dress, and I’ve already worn it twice — the other time was with sandals. I was also thrilled to find this Steve Madden crossbody and instantly fell for the color and design. And it helps that it was only $15!

These boots were one of my most missed items during my 30 for 30 Remix Challenge. However, I didn’t think they’d be too practical since most of those days were work days., but I do love the short cowboy boot look.

If you’ve never watched Friday Night Lights, I highly recommend starting at the beginning. Yes, it does include football (whether you enjoy that part or not, which I do), but it’s not really about football. It’s about a small west Texas town and the people who live there. Great entertainment, and it’s not hard to become attached to the characters.

Clear eyes, full hearts…

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 11:38 am

    CAN’T LOSE!

    Anyway.

    This is a great outfit. And I’m supremely jealous of the fact that you’re not wearing tights. Regardless, I think this outfit pays homage to Texas/Southwest style without being costume-y, which is always a good thing.

Leave a Reply

