Skip to content

A lack of inspiration

March 29, 2011
by

57277817

I need your help. I have lost my mojo. My creativity is shot. I have fashion block.

Every day for the past few days, I have struggled to pick out an outfit for the day. I almost missed my train this morning because I went through four outfits before I settled on one (I’m not happy with it, by the way). I never used to have this problem. I could just look at my closet and pick out a few items and make something I love. Now…I’m just sputtering along.

This isn’t due to a lack of clothing. I have a closet packed to the seams with dresses, skirts, shirts, sweaters, etc. I just for some reason cannot put two and two together to make a cohesive outfit. When I first started my new job, I took a page from JoAnn and wrote down a list of outfits in a notebook. It was a great thing to have as I transitioned from night ours to day hours, as I wasn’t in the mood to be creative when my alarm went off at 7 a.m. Now I’ve hit this wall. Nothing in my closet appeals to me. Even my favorite pieces. WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME?! Partially, I blame the skitzo weather in D.C. It was 70 a few weeks ago, and now they are calling for a wintry mix on Wednesday. It’s toying with my emotions.

I gave up shopping for Lent, so this is the time in which I should really be exploring what my closet has to offer. I just want a personal stylist. In an attempt to help cure my condition, I downloaded the MyStyle app for my iPad.  This is one of those Cher-from-Clueless-closet type things that allows me to input my clothes and then they will randomly suggest outfits. It’s a glorious thing, and just what I needed, so I am in the process of inputing all of my closet in to this app (which will probably take a year or so…kidding). So until that happens, I need help from you all.

What are some of your tips for putting together outfits? Do you want to come be my stylist?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ashley permalink
    March 29, 2011 2:53 pm

    ugh, no tips at the moment, because this happens to me almost every day.

  2. March 29, 2011 7:59 pm

    I’m trying to resist the urge to shop as well, so I’m helping organize a clothing swap among some friends of mine.
    We’re all bring a few gently used items and then we’re taking home any treasures we think would work for us.
    It’s not technically shopping as you’re not spending any money on it, and you’re getting some new pieces to inspire and refresh your wardrobe.
    I’ve been in that same kind of rut as well. I’ve found it helps to take a piece I find difficult to style and try it on with a bunch of different bottoms or tops to see what might work. Sometimes I come up with some interesting remixes.
    You can also raid the back of your closet. I’m often surprised by what I find hiding in the dark places of my closet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

