Skip to content

Leavin’ on a jet plane

March 31, 2011

By the time you read this, Shannon and I will be well on our way to fabulous Las Vegas!

As I write, I’m about halfway packed, making mental lists of what else I need to cram in my bags (and which liquids to leave behind, as I am not checking a bag), and finally, what to wear for the big travel day.

I’ve traveled in a variety of styles: jeans, shorts, dresses, sweats, etc. However, when flying, I’ve never worn sweats again after one specific experience…

During my senior year of high school, my family went to Paris for spring break. Knowing we were going to be flying overnight, we wanted to be as comfortable as possible. I dressed in some swishy sweatpants, a T-shirt and a jacket.

Unfortunately, when we arrived at Charles de Gaulle, our luggage was nowhere to be found. And it didn’t arrive at our hotel for a couple days.

So here I am in a major fashion center, walking around and sweats and a T-shirt. Fail.

(Though I must give a shout out to Air France, who gave us a daily allotment to purchase some clothing while they tracked down our bags. Even though I’m convinced it was another airline company who shall not be named that lost the luggage during our Boston layover. They also lost my bag on the way home.)

My point is this: when you do check a bag, make sure you’re wearing something you don’t mind wearing for a few days. Or do stash a change of clothes in your carry-on (clean underwear, for sure).

As for me, I’m planning on jeans and a cute top. Still undecided on shoes, but it’ll likely be what won’t fit in my suitcase.

What about you? What do you wear for travel days?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    March 31, 2011 2:28 pm

    My mom’s friends flew to Italy for a two week cruise, and their luggage was lost…forever. It made my mom have a quasi panic attach before she was flying to catch the same cruise.

    I’m checking my bag for when I go to SF in a few weeks (um, no way I can survive a week with only a carry on, people). For the flight I will probably wear leggings and some comfy tunic. I also put a lot of faith in airlines that they won’t lose my bags…

Leave a Reply

