Skip to content

Do it yourself

April 5, 2011

I’m on a shopping ban, as many of you know. And when I am not sitting around writing up all the things I want to buy when Lent is over (yes, I am doing this. Yes, I have a problem) I am trying to figure out ways to try new things.

I was reading Adored Austin last week and saw her post on her new collective “Made This/Love This.” It is a website where every few weeks, she will post a DIY fashion project. You can then choose to do it and send a photo of your work to post on the site. I partook in the first challenge because a) we all know I love scarves and b) it looks super cute. Here is my end result.

IMAG0145

I really like how it looks. I took one of my favorite sweaters (which had a huge ugly stain on the sleeve), so it’s very soft. I like it doubled like this, or as one long strand. I also made two more (like I said, I love scarves). The other two I made out of lighter shirts, so they will be nice in the summer. Super cute with a t-shirt and jeans.

I wrote a few weeks back about how to make a slightly short dress appropriate for work. In my dress buying binge, I bought some that are a great length for summer, but not so great for the office. So I invested in two vintage slips from Etsy and I finally put one to work.

IMAG0143

Dress: F21. Shirt: H&M. Slip: Etsy. Shoes: Chinese Laundry. Necklace: F21

It was 80 degrees yesterday (it is half that today) so I embraced it by wearing a skirt. I got a ton of compliments on this, and when I told people it was a slip, they loved the idea.

What are some of your fashion fixes?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

