Skip to content

Spring, is that you?

April 11, 2011

Guys. It hit 70 degrees in New York today. Seventy. (I know, Southerners. Stop rolling your eyes.)

(Also, it’s true that New York is a really interesting place to live, but I find myself talking about the weather way more than I ever have before. I think it’s because we’re constantly exposed to the elements because so few people here drive.)

Anyway.

Spring is about to spring, you guys (I think), and I couldn’t be happier to start wearing sundresses and wedges every day. (In case you were curious, that’s exactly what I wore to work today.)

Other spring-y things I’m excited for? Drinking on patios. My ears not freezing off when I run in the park. Having an excuse for pedicures. Seasonal fruits and vegetables. Fresh flowers. Outdoor dining. White wine season, so I can stop spilling red wine all over myself.

(Things I’m not looking forward to? Shaving my legs more often. Allergies. Storing my beloved boots away. …Yup, I think that’s it.)

I have a point here … and it’s that spring is awesome and the end of winter is even better. So, what, sartorially speaking, am I looking forward to this spring?

Wedges

Wedges

Wedges by Shannon Otto* featuring black pump shoes

Michael Antonio high heel sandal, $75
Michael Antonio wedge heel sandal, $55
ASOS peep toe sandal, $81
Michael Antonio black pump shoes, $65

Not “flatforms” or whatever we’re calling those stupid ’90s-esque shoes right now. They were great on the Spice Girls but it’s 2011, not 1998. (Also. I miss the Spice Girls. There, I said it.)

Denim

Denim

Denim by Shannon Otto* featuring sheer tops

Sheer top, $44
Cropped denim vest, $43
Denim by Victoria Beckham wide leg flare jeans, $55
Paige denim jeans, $79

I bought a chambray shirt from Gap and returned it because it didn’t fit right in the shoulders. (To that I say, thank you to those 13 years of competitive swimming.) I also haven’t been able to find a pair of wide-leg trouser-fit jeans that I like, but I’m still searching. Also, I kind of wish I had kept my old denim jackets from high school (yes, plural, I was just that cool).

Color!

color

color by Shannon Otto* featuring a t shirt skirt

Ruched dress, $50
TopShop blue top, $36
Calvin Klein Jeans studded jeans, $98
T shirt skirt, $30

(Yup, I’m bringing back the purple pants from 2008.) I think combining colors can be really interesting, and I’m glad this is finally “trendy” so I can wear my purple pants with red tops without looking like a total clown.

What are you looking forward to this spring, fashion-wise or otherwise?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon's Mom permalink
    April 19, 2011 12:37 pm

    Hmmmmm – purple pants and red top – 20+ year old version of Red Hat Ladies???

  2. April 19, 2011 1:12 pm

    I actually paired the purple pants with a turquoise top … a little easier on the eyes.

Leave a Reply

