Skip to content

I put some new shoes on and suddenly everything is right

May 8, 2011

As evidenced by my purchase of Crocs over a year ago, I’m a big fan of comfortable shoes, even at the occasional sacrifice of style. I don’t work in customer service anymore, so I’m not on my feet for 8-plus hours, but there’s still so much value to me in a pair of shoes that don’t lead to incessant swearing on the sidewalks. The Crocs achieve this, but the problem is I’m still sort of ashamed to be seen in them in public. Enter TOMS shoes. I absolutely love them, and I am not embarrassed at all!

TOMS shoes is a company that gives away a pair of shoes to a child in need for each pair purchased. I first heard about TOMS shoes my senior year of college working at the campus newspaper, The Red & Black, where all five of us sharpened our journalism skills before heading out into the real world. There was some huge push by some student groups (mostly Greek, if I remember correctly) for everyone to go barefoot for a day — “One Day Without Shoes.” It’s a way for undergrads to “understand” what it’s like to live in poverty in a third-world country. (I recall having a fairly heated debate in editorial board about how silly I thought this event was, and probably came off as an asshole saying so, but I’d still rather write a check than risk getting a skin infection from Athens, Ga. pavement. Anyway.) At the time, the only available style of TOMS was a beige, basic canvas shoe that I wasn’t crazy about. While I supported the idea behind the company, I wasn’t a fan of the style, and was kind of turned off by the PR-ish barefoot event. So, I moved on.

Fast forward to now, and TOMS offers a wide selection of shoes for both men and women. They’re very, like, beachy without going to the beach, maybe with baggy Katie Holmes-ish jeans and a flowy top. I got a pair in black. They’re so comfortable, and only $44 (remember, you’re buying another pair of shoes for a child who needs them).

They’re so simple that you’re almost furious that you didn’t come up with the idea yourself. I like them in red too:

In other shoe news, I’ve recently come into possession of my Mom’s boots from the ’70s (sidenote: Happy Mother’s Day, mamas!). They were a little beaten up, but my sister had them resoled and polished. They are as good as new. They were a bit snug on her, so she gave them to me.

I enjoy receiving compliments on them, because saying “they were my Mom’s in the ’70s” just feels so hipster. (Note: ignore the conspicuous liquor store bag behind my feet. Shannon and I had quite the interesting Easter Sunday this year.)

Speaking of hipster, a nice little to-do list I came across recently in Williamsburg…

Sunday Love Thrift Store, Williamsburg, Brooklyn

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    May 9, 2011 4:24 pm

    I vote for you doing a few outfits where you showcase how to wear the Toms in a totally awesome, stylish way.

    I have also contemplated Toms, mainly for them to be my walking-to-work shoes as I have to walk a few blocks from the train to my office now and as much as I love heels, I do not want to wipe out on K Street in front of all sort of important lobbyists and what not. I have also contemplated getting some of the glittery ones to wear on my wedding day, as again, I am not coordinated enough to walk down the aisle in anything but flats. It’s either glittery Toms or Glittery Chuck Taylors.

    • Kristen permalink*
      May 11, 2011 2:41 pm

      I have a couple pairs of TOMS that I walk to work in a lot. Somehow that bendy rubber sole is still great for walking. However, I also bike, and have discovered that the floppy sole is not the best for pedal-pushing.

  2. Jenny permalink*
    May 10, 2011 8:37 am

    “I have also contemplated getting some of the glittery ones to wear on my wedding day, as again, I am not coordinated enough to walk down the aisle in anything but flats.”

    AMAZING. Please do that!

Trackbacks

  1. My Top 11 of 2011 « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

