Skip to content

Buyer’s remore

May 9, 2011

There is a small chance I might have already had a post title the same as this one, but for the sake of this here post, let’s pretend that I don’t…

As I write this, I am in the middle of a massive clothing purge. After 26 plus years of having a closet all to myself (even a minuscule one in Creswell Hall) I will soon be sharing a closet with a man. My fiancé and I are moving in together in July, and we will be merging all of our clothing into shared closet space. While for him and his six dress shirts, this is not a problem, for me and my overstuffed walk-in closet…it poses an issue. Every year I’ve moved since college, I’ve always purged a bunch of clothes, but it seems as if in between moves, I manage to rebuild what I had lost and then some.  But this time, I can’t just do a mini purge — we are going all out here.

Gone are the t-shirts I’ve had since high school. I said bye bye to some of the items I’ve had since high school. I am trying to narrow down my wardrobe to what I wear the most and will wear most in the future. I would be lying if I said it wasn’t hard parting with a lot of these items, but it’s rather cathartic after the fact, and it’s something I need to do.

But I’ve noticed an interesting thing as I’ve sorted through my closets and drawers — I’m getting rid of a lot of stuff I have purchased in the past year.

IMAG0165.jpg

Now you might not be able to notice, but in that pile there is a dress from Forever 21 I bought in December, a blazer I got at Goodwill back in August and a few Target dresses I got last summer. So what gives?

While my roommate might be giving me grief for getting rid of things I have purchased so recently, if I’m not going to wear it, what’s the point of keeping it? There is no use letting something hang in my closet all sad and alone when I could donate it or give it to someone else would might better appreciate it.

This whole process has taught me a few things. First of all, I need to be more selective in my shopping. I’ve recently become more attuned to buying items that I can wear to work during the weeks and have the same items be transitioned to weekend wear (note here: nothing short). Second, as much as I love shopping, I really need to ask myself “Will I get a lot of wear out of this?” before I swipe my credit card. While some items of clothing have memories associated with them that make it hard to realize, I need to understand that even if something seems irreplaceable…it’s not. I have to learn to let go…or at least try.

Have you found yourself in a similar situation? 

Also P.S. if any of you out there might be interested in seeing some of the items I am getting rid of for swapping purposes, let me know!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 3:44 pm

    I can totally relate! For a while I was heavily into shopping at Old Navy – until I realized when I purged it was 90% stuff that I had purchased there in the last year! Now I spend a little more money on things from Loft, Anthro (sale rack!), & Francesca’s but I am finding myself much more satiated by the things I purchase. Not such a “fast food” mentality about clothes which is nice.

    • Katy permalink*
      May 10, 2011 12:38 pm

      You know…I have never been in an Anthro store. The closest one to me is in Georgetown which is not easily accessible. But I went to Banana Republic over the weekend (and the Gap) and bought six shirts that were on sale. I figured it was a good investment. I’m OK with buying some stuff at Target or Forever 21 which I might wear for a season and then toss. But for staples, I am now willing to invest.

  2. Jenny permalink*
    May 9, 2011 8:53 pm

    “I really need to ask myself ‘Will I get a lot of wear out of this?’ before I swipe my credit card.”

    Yes, yes, a thousand times yes! I’ve had the exact same realization lately. I can LOVE a dress, but when it comes down to it, I’m like — how many outrageously patterned dresses do you have already? I get maybe 2 wears a year out of these off-the-wall items. I’ve become a lot better at winning the “will I really wear this?” argument.

    After moving to NY and having to let go of more than half of my wardrobe, I was kind of hooked on that cathartic “get rid of unneeded crap” feeling. An anti-hoarders high, if you will. About once a month I go through my clothes and get rid of a dress or two. It feels especially great when I can give them to someone I know (roommates, etc.) and see them reinvent them with their own styles. Clothing rebirth!

  3. Rocio permalink
    May 14, 2011 3:46 pm

    Let’s swap!!!

Leave a Reply

