Skip to content

Quick Fashion Fix

May 13, 2011

I chose the title “Quick Fashion Fix” for this post, and then several other reasons for it came mind:

  • Sometimes you just need to shop for something pretty.
  • Sometimes that pretty thing you find needs to be slightly altered.
  • This post is likely going to be short, but hopefully enjoyable.

I hadn’t been shopping in quite a while, so I decided to hit up Forever 21 at my local mall. However, when I got there, I discovered there actually isn’t one, but it is currently being constructed.

Instead I dipped in Anthropologie (hello pricey), Express (for 30 percent off dresses, but couldn’t find one I loved), and finally Macy’s where I shopped the sale racks.

Finally I stumbled upon a cute floral dress that was on sale for $20 (originally $40). It fit perfectly, but the straps were too long causing the dress to end up being awkwardly low-cut.

My fix?

(Sorry for the poor image quality)

Safety pin, of course! Since the straps already are near the center of my back, I just need them to come together a little more so they won’t be so long. Since the straps are cords, the key is to getting the safety pin through the cord itself so it will stay in place. And luckily, my hair will cover the safety pin.

I admit, it’s not the most original fix, but I find I have to rig my clothes fairly often to make them work better. What are some of the quick fashion fixes you’ve put together?

P.S. Happy Friday the 13th!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

