Skip to content

Hello, hello again

June 1, 2011

Hey guess what? It’s really freaking hot outside. Well, at least here in D.C. When I get on the Metro everyday, it feels like I am riding a sauna to work.

Moving on. Sorry for the absence. I’ve been defending my thesis (hooray for finally being done with grad school) and setting a wedding date (May 5 of next year, and no, we are not having a Cinco de Mayo themed wedding…even though I enjoy margaritas and queso very much). And trying not to melt.

I love summer for the BBQs and the time by the pool. But on a daily basis, I try to not sweat huge amounts while commuting on mass transit. The thought of wearing pants makes me cringe. I gravitate towards skirts and dressed, occasionally throwing in throwing in some crop pants if I am feeling like it. Then of course I have to bring a cardigan or blazer as it is something like 60 degrees in my office (not that I am complaining).

This is just a short post to show what I am wearing today…when it feels like 105 degrees outside.

IMAG0168

Top: Charlotte Russe. Skirt: Swaped, from my roomie. Flats: Chinese Laundry via DSW (these have been replaced by new Steve Madden ones, but I still wear them). Earrings (if you can see them): Forever 21.

Just wanted to share…and ask for tips on staying cool while commuting…and not showing up at the office looking like a hot mess. I’m considering buying a portable fan…

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    June 1, 2011 9:22 pm

    I absolutely know what you mean about not wearing pants right now. Today I tried putting on jeans, and promptly traded them for a skirt.

    Granted I don’t commute on public transportation, but I still seem to sweat plenty in my car. Its thermometer actually measured 102 today. Ugh. Is it really only June 1?

    (So does that mean you won’t have queso at your wedding? 😉 )

    • Katy permalink*
      June 2, 2011 12:09 pm

      My hair is also very unhappy…

      … and there will be cheese of some sort at my wedding…and my mom wants margaritas…

  2. June 1, 2011 9:32 pm

    Congrats on picking a wedding date!

    I feel ya on awful-high-humidity commutes. I’m pretty sure the interior of my car is like 150 degrees every time I step outside and I sweat after a good 15 minutes. Outfit documentation is going to get interesting this summer…. 🙂

    • Katy permalink*
      June 2, 2011 12:12 pm

      Eric commutes in shorts and a t-shirt and changes in to his work clothes in the bathroom when he gets there. I haven’t reached that point yet…but it is still only June, so I can’t rule it out.

Leave a Reply

