Skip to content

Sweat it out this summer

June 29, 2011

Hello! In the interest of regaining some of my former thriftiness, I thought I’d share with you guys some of my summer essentials – athletic-wear.

Yes, I’ve been largely absent from good ol’ TT recently. What have I been up to?

Training for this beast of a race: the New York Road Runners’ Sprint Triathlon. Sure it’s a “sprint” triathlon, but in my mind, a triathlon is a triathlon. And since this will be my first tri, it’s a beast to me.

So, I’ve been spending long hours swimming laps in my gym’s (short, 18-yard) pool, spinning my heart out, continuing to participate in road races and pumping iron in “Total Body Conditioning” classes at the gym. At least I’m finally getting my money’s worth for that membership.

I’m extremely picky about summer workout-wear. I like my tank tops long, not too tight but not too loose and breathable. And I really dislike shorts. But we’re getting to the point here in NYC where it’s not feasible to wear cropped pants when running outside, so I’ve had to find some shorts I can stand to wear.

My all-time favorite top?

Target’s C9 by Champion Sleeveless Workout Tank

It meets all of my qualifications and is also extremely comfortable. And at $9.99, the price is definitely right.

Lululemon Groove Shorts

I had my reservations about these. And at $48, they’re not too “thrifty,” although the cost-per-wear is rapidly making them worth it. But my reservations were more about the tightness and the shortness, etc etc. (I’ve got what my mama gave me and then some.) But. I wore them for a road race for the first time on Sunday and they were surprisingly comfortable. They rode up a bit (OK, a lot) but it didn’t bother me much and my legs were happy to not be confined to my beloved Lulu crops. Plus, these are great for biking. They may even make an appearance at the tri later this month.

Speedo Women’s Magnetic Space Splice Endurance Plus Drop Back Swimsuit

I snagged this on Amazon for a mere $60, which, as any swimmer will tell you, is a good price. I like this new Speedo better than the TYR suit I picked up at CitySports a month or so ago. Good swimsuits aren’t expensive, but I don’t think you need more than 2 if you’ll just be swimming laps casually.

Other than living in my swimsuit and running shoes (but not at the same time), I haven’t been thrifting a whole lot. My sister visited me in NYC the weekend after her high school graduation and we hit up Buffalo Exchange in the East Village. I snagged a pair of black sequined Oxfords and a navy pseudo-flapper dress. (Let’s be real, it’s from H&M.) I love that it’s navy, though, since I tend to gravitate toward black or florals.

What are your summer essentials? How are you dealing with the hot temps inside and cool office AC?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 1:14 pm

    For years, I was also a shorts hater. I never cared about wearing them to run, but I was always too self-conscious to wear them in real life. But since it’s definitely too hot for jeans on the weekends here, my one denim pair is starting to grow on me. 🙂

    As far as running goes, I’m on the hunt for shorts like the ones you listed! I have a pair from Target, and even though they’re comfortable and I still wear them, they are definitely too short for my liking. I tried on what looked like a longer pair at Old Navy last week, but they ended up being knee-length crops. I’m also very thrifty when it comes to workout wear, which is why I don’t own anything from Lululemon– I’m not paying $50 for something I’m going to sweat all over. Let me know if you find anything cheaper!

    And I love shirts like the one you posted. I’ll have to look for those at Target!

    • July 7, 2011 1:35 pm

      Also never realized the NYRR Tri is in Queens. Flushing Meadows Park is nice!

    • July 7, 2011 1:39 pm

      Those shirts are awesome. I’m obsessed – they really are the perfect fit for me.

      And I know those Lulu shorts are expensive, but sometimes you really do pay for quality. I like them because they’re good for yoga, biking AND running. I don’t like knee-length crops OR booty shorts, so these ones are a great compromise. I’m always on the hunt for cheaper workout clothes though!

Leave a Reply

