Skip to content

All about the inspiration

August 15, 2011

It’s August. What some people call the Dog Days of Summer. I, for one, can attest to the validity of that. August in D.C. is when everything slows down. Congress is on recess and thus most lobbyists use this time to take vacay. School’s not in session. The tourists are waining. And there is no news to be had (which is bad for those who work at a newspaper). Something about August just drags on. So to deal, I turn to my closet and new inspiration for my daily wear (and I’m trying to not shop…unless it is wedding related).

Like many people these days, I am obsessed with Pinterest. I mean, it’s pretty much the best thing since slice bread (well at least in terms of ways to procrastinate endlessly). I have a board dedicate to style and a few weeks back, I pinned this picture.

Screen shot 2011-08-15 at 1.30.31 PMSource

There was just something so easy about it. I love the belt. I love the skirt. Easy work perfection. So I thought…hmm, perhaps I could recreate it.

Well, this is what I came up with.

IMAG0200

(Shirt: Steve & Barrys, Skirt: Target, Belt: Target, Wedges: Bandolino)

It’s not a perfect duplication, of course, but I really liked the look anyways. This skirt has been one of my staples for awhile, but I’d been trying to find new ways to wear it other than my standard tuck-shirt-in-to-skirt-for-high-waisted-effect. I like this more than my usual way of wearing it. My co-worker did tell me I looked as though I was channeling Oliva Wilde from Cowboys & Aliens…but I don’t really see it.

What are your favorite ways to find inspiration?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink*
    August 16, 2011 4:16 pm

    I’m still confused what Pinterest is. Is it like Tumblr?

Leave a Reply

