Skip to content

Fall and winter fashion wishlist

September 7, 2011

I know what you’re thinking. Hey, Katy…haven’t you written the past few posts about needing to stop shopping? Why yes, Thrifty Threads reader, I have. I even went back and examined my last few posts and say that I indeed so say I need to stop shopping. Hasn’t apparently stopped me…but moving on.

Despite my lack of closet space and my lack of really needing anything (besides everything on Zara’s website…which can now be shipped to me…must resist), there are still a few things I need (or like to believe I need) as the seasons change.

Ever fall and winter, I wear the heck out of my tights. Wearing skirts every day in the chilly D.C. weather means having to cover up my legs which in turn means that halfway through the season, my black, white and gray tights are already wearing out. Before it gets super chilly, I need to pick up a few new pairs and will most likely go with We Love Colors tights. They are comparably priced to those I can get at Target, and they are super sturdy.

Next on my list is a pair of light wash jeans. Last winter, I practically lived in my jeggings from Forever 21. I have two pairs of those, both darker washes, and then one pair of actual jeans, also dark wash. While I prefer dark denim, I find that I am sometimes in the mood to wear light jeans, so I believe I need some. I really like Old Navy jeans, and they are quite affordable and last me awhile, so I’ll probably pick up a pair of these.

Screen shot 2011-09-07 at 9.57.41 AMThey actually have a slight flare which I enjoy. And as I went over to Old Navy’s website, I noticed these are on sale. And they are running a 25 percent off promotion today. Hmmm…and I might have just put them in my online cart…

My next desire is slightly controversial (dramatic much). So, I have to walk a decent amount on my way in to the office everyday. I walk to catch my shuttle, walk in to the train station, walk from the train station to my office, etc. No matter the season, if I am wearing heels that day, I will wear some other sort of shot for the journey in to work. During the summer it’s flip flops, on rainy days it’s my awesome new red rainboots. And in the winter…it’s usually Uggs. Well, fake Uggs at least. I’ve been rocking Target-brand Ugg boots since college. Yes, judge me if you will, but they are comfortable, easy to just throw on, and most importantly, keep my feet warm when it’s cold outside. I’ve been through probably four pairs since college…which might add up to being close to what a legit pair of Uggs cost. But I still can’t justify spending the money. So I am on the hunt for a new pair of fake Uggs.

Screen shot 2011-09-07 at 10.10.13 AM

These are also from Old Navy, which means they are also on sale today, which means they might also find their way in to my cart…

But then that’s it. I swear.

What are your picks for fall and winter?

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 11:27 pm

    Thanks for the link to tights. I never end up wearing dresses/skirts in winter because I get too cold, and I hadn’t found the right solution.

    The other thing on my list is a cute leather jacket-im thinking red!

Leave a Reply

