Skip to content

Boots and Dresses and Scarves, Oh My!

September 27, 2011

Katy’s right, it has been quiet here at Thrifty Threads lately.

In my last post, I made a couple of announcements. I’ve now been at my new job for a month and I’m really enjoying it. We’ve also started moving into the new house. The biggest part of the transition is taking place in the next week: actually starting to live at the new house!

AND today, I’m heading to the beach for some much needed R&R (yes, in the middle of a move). My family had already planned a fall beach vacation, and in my new job I have a fall break that just happened to line up on the same week. Has it really been almost 16 months since I’ve been to the beach?!

Busy, busy, busy. But get ready for new house décor photos in the next month!

Here in Atlanta, the early fall weather has been sporadic, as usual. One day the high will be near 90, and the next it may barely reach 80.

However, it has seemed a little cooler than usual so early on in the season. After the heat of August, I’m certainly relieved to be able to wear boots with dresses and the occasional scarf.

Here are a few of my favorite combinations that I’ve worn recently:

Dress: Ross
Scarf: Icing ($2)
Boots: Target

I wore this outfit to a show at the Woodruff Arts Center to see Beatlemania and Heart of the King: A Tribute to Elvis the weekend before last with a friend who had tickets from her dad’s work. We were some of the youngest people in the audience by about 30 years, and there was some great people watching. There’s nothing like watching an elderly man stand up and dance his heart out to Elvis! Needless to say, it was a fun outing!

Dress: Thrifted from Plato’s Closet
Necklace: Kohl’s
Boots: Thrifted from The Clothing Warehouse

This outfit, I wore for gameday and the Hop Harvest Festival at Terrapin Beer Company on Saturday. I found this dress on a gameday a few weeks ago at Plato’s Closet, and I’ve already worn it a couple times. And of course I love my cowboy boots.

Dress: Ross
Boots: Walmart

When I bought this dress at Ross I wasn’t there for clothes shopping, so I didn’t even bother trying it on. I held it up, and I knew it’s a style that tends to fit me well so I went for it. Glad I did because it fits perfectly. The brown and black combination seems so right for fall.

What are some of your favorite ways to work your fall wardrobe?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2011 1:21 pm

    Have fun with your R&R!

    I love all of the outfits you’ve shown in this post, but in particular the 2nd one. That dress from Plato’s Closet is to die for. You look amazing!

    xo Emily
    theweartogogirls.tumblr.com

    • Melanie permalink*
      September 27, 2011 1:37 pm

      Thank you, Emily! How sweet! I’m pretty partial to that outfit myself. 🙂

  2. Kathleen permalink
    October 5, 2011 4:41 pm

    You seem to be the queen of boots. Any recommendations for moderately priced riding boots? I’m desperate for some to wear to work this season, but I don’t want them to look too casual or too “biker-ish” (weighed down by buckles and clasps.)

    • Melanie permalink*
      October 5, 2011 9:42 pm

      Hmm, riding boots for work… If you’re looking for secondhand, I’d try Plato’s Closet, Goodwill and any other thrift stores. That takes a bit of digging, though I have to say, my local Plato’s Closet has had a solid boot collection lately. I’ve seen several styles of boots at Ross, and there might have been a riding-type boot (also, TJ Maxx and Marshall’s are possibilities). And maybe Target or Kohl’s.

      Good luck with your boot hunting, and let me know what you find! 🙂

Leave a Reply

