Skip to content

Finally giving in

October 12, 2011

It’s a cruddy, rainy day here in D.C. I sit here sipping my salted caramel mocha from Starbucks (delicious by the way) and figured I’d whip up a quick post. I wasn’t planning on it, but I’ll have to thank my mom for the inspiration on this one.

I can be stubborn sometimes. Not super stubborn, but occasionally. For instance, I used to think Nascar was a stupid sport for hicks (which many people might still think it is) and refused to give it a chance. Now, I go to at least a race a year. I used to hate cats. Then living with one with my previous roomie changed my mind, and now, I have a cat of my own (who is incredibly adorable. Don’t be jealous.)

The same can be said for fashion. Sometimes, my refusal to adopt a trend is warranted (faux fur vests, anyone?), but sometimes, it’s just because I don’t want to give it a chance. Case in point: animal print. I know that it’s not really a trend per say as it is always in style somewhat, but I just never got in to it. My mother, on the other hand, loves animal print. Heck, she wore a zebra striped shirt when I went to go try on wedding dresses. She has always tried to talk me in to it, and I always said no. But now, I gave in.

IMAG0252

Apologies (not really) for the cheesy photo. I sent this to my mom and wanted to get across just how excited I am about my new animal print cardigan. Also, look at the awesome giveaway bookshelf at my office.

This is the new addition. It’s from Old Navy (which has seriously been impressing me as of late, who knew?). I saw it awhile back when I went to exchange a pair of jeans and then (as I often do) kept thinking about it, dropping it in to my online cart and then changing my mind. It was the first time I’d ever been attracted to an animal print item of clothing. I think it might have to do with the color scheme: the print is peach and gray. Luckily for me, I went back to Old Navy last night and it was on sale, so I got it. Needless to say, I really, really love it.

So there mom. You were right.

Any items that you’ve come around to loving?

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink*
    October 12, 2011 9:07 pm

    Maxi dresses. I used to feel frumpy in them but with the right shoes/jean jacket, I love them!

    • Katy permalink*
      October 12, 2011 9:15 pm

      I am thinking about rocking the maxi dress and sweater thing. Like work appropriate pajamas.

Leave a Reply

