Skip to content

Too much of a good thing

October 14, 2011

I had a revelation last night as I was picking out my clothes for today. And yes, I plan my outfit out the night before.

In the past, I’ve talked on here about how I am lacking inspiration when it comes to my everyday clothing. I read fashion blogs. I go on Pinterest. I watch people on the Metro everyday. I see a lot of new and interesting combinations. But then when I stand in front of my own closet, my eyes glaze over and I tell myself I have nothing to wear. But in fact, it’s the opposite. I think I have too much to wear. Water, water everywhere, and not a drop to drink.

I have a shopping problem. There. I said it. I think I need certain things, when in fact, I think I might just like getting packages in the mail. I mean, who doesn’t? Every time I move, I purge bags and bags of clothing, yet my closet still ends up being stuff to the gills. At my current apartment, I have a whole closet to myself, three drawers in a dresser and pretty much the entire space under a queen size bed filled with my wearable belongings. So when it comes time to mentally go through every single clothing item, I think my brain gets overwhelmed and can’t fixate on one specific outfit. Take last night for instance. I had taken out a few pieces for today, I even ironed a shirt. But then sitting in my bed reading, the closet door was open and I saw another option. So I changed my mind.

I have enough clothes were I could probably wear two different outfits a day and not repeat anything for a few months. That is kinda ridiculous when you think about it. Is it going to stop me from shopping? Probably not, but I definitely have to start doing a better job of looking through my closet, picking out pieces and trying to remix outfits in a new ways. I’ve started keeping a notebook by my closet where I write down ideas of outfits I want to try. If I think of an outfit while at work or on the train, I have a running email draft where I type it in. I need to realize the resources I have in front of me and make the most of them.

Have you had any fashion epiphanies lately?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    October 16, 2011 7:47 pm

    I definitely have too many clothes I do not wear, yet can’t seem to get myself to part with. Since I just moved, it has become all to apparent…

  2. Jenny permalink*
    October 19, 2011 6:08 pm

    I get this. I used to have a firm rule that I couldn’t go shopping again until anything new I’d purchased recently had been worn at least once, but I still have things with tags on them, and yet I am still making impulse buys!

    Like Mel said it’s also hard with moving, some of my clothes are in boxes still, so I don’t have a great visual representation every morning of my options. Writing outfits down is a good idea — would force me to actually follow through with them.

    And you’re right about the joy of new things, getting things in the mail — I’m totally guilty of that. Whoever said money can’t buy happiness is a nutjob.

  3. October 20, 2011 11:09 am

    I totally have a notebook full of outfit ideas. I look at fashion blogs (or people) and think about what I have that is similar in my closet in order to recreate the outfit. It’s SO easy to roll out of bed, look at my book, choose and outfit and go from there. Takes all the thinking out of the morning…which is good.

  4. October 20, 2011 3:24 pm

    Yea, I don’t have enough clothes… lol… ok fine! i have too many clothes but i wear all of them for different situations. its situational dammit! but what i really need to go get is some new shoes!!!!

    http://www.forelyse.com

  5. Jenny permalink*
    October 24, 2011 9:32 am

    Just a little update that this post has inspired me to start actually wearing the new clothes that I buy. Today I’m wearing a camel-hair-ish skirt, tights, boots, a cardigan I got at a thrift store, and a brooch which I never wear because I’m scared it looks grandmothery. Why do I buy things I don’t intend to wear?!

    Turning a new leaf!

Trackbacks

  1. The importance of planning « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

