Skip to content

Living in Transition

October 17, 2011

For the past three weeks or so, I have been living in two places. For the move, our new lease began half a month before the old lease ended. Plus, the new landlord let us start moving stuff into the house before the lease officially started. In theory, moving over a long period of time sounded like a good idea. However, in retrospect, I think it was more exhausting than moving over one weekend.

But finally, that’s all over now.

On Saturday, Matt and I turned in the keys to the old apartment, so we now only live in the new house. (Still settling in.)

Aside from moving, the fall weather is such a transitional time for dressing. In the mornings, temperatures have been in the low 50s, and it tends to warm up to the mid-80s. Needless to say, this makes it difficult to dress for the whole day.

Lately I’ve been wearing dresses or skirts most days so I can wear tights and a cardigan in the morning, and remove both for the afternoon.

Though it’s difficult to dress for this weather, I definitely prefer it to sweating immediately upon walking outside or shivering nonstop. So not ready for winter.

Do you have tips or suggestions for dressing for transitional weather?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Katy permalink*
    October 17, 2011 1:37 pm

    I can’t wait to see your house (in person hopefully)!

    As for the wardrobe transitioning, it hasn’t gotten really hot here. It is chilly in the morning and probably 70s in the afternoon. I just wear tights and stick with them all day. Today…I’m actually channeling Kate Middleton and wearing pantyhose…to be fair, I wore them before she made them all in style again. It is also about 50 degrees in my office so I feel justified.

  2. Jenny permalink*
    October 18, 2011 8:34 pm

    We’re in that weird in-between phase too in NY. I check the weather every morning and try to go off of that … but somehow I end up sweaty or shivering at some point during the day. It’s a mess.

    Like, this morning, I did a long-sleeve shirt, jeans, boots, and a heavy scarf. By the time I got to the subway I took the scarf off (sweating) and regretted the boots immediately. Then I get to the office and was cold. So, tips-wise, beats me! Cardigans, lightweight tights?

Leave a Reply

