Skip to content

In a pinch

October 21, 2011

I begin this with a disclaimer: please don’t judge me. I am a working woman who sometimes has to find a way to fix an issue while running out the door to catch a bus in the morning. That is all.

Has this ever happened to you? You wake up, start to get ready for work, then realize part of the ensemble you were planning to wear was wrinkly? Then you find out that you don’t have enough time to drag out the ironing board, wait for the iron to heat up, etc. etc. Well, maybe this doesn’t happen to you, but it happens to me quite often. Here’s something you might not have known about me: I despise wrinkles in my clothes. I have been know to iron t-shirts prior to wearing them. That being said, I enjoy ironing. I know it sounds weird and oddly domestic, but something about it calms me down.

The above scenario happens to me quite a lot. If I know ahead of time what I am going to wear, I will iron it, but sometimes I change my mind last minute. So what do I do? I use my flat iron. Yes, that is right, my wonderful Chi flat iron. It heats up in 60 seconds. That I can get behind. I don’t use it to iron my entire shirt usually, just the collar and edges and any major wrinkles I see. Today was one of those days.

IMAG0259

Black pants: Forever 21. Boots: Target. Sweater: Target. White button down: Old Navy. Necklace: Forever 21

(WTF is with that look on my face, I do not know. And look at my adorable cat who wanted to get in the picture)

I pulled the button down out of my closet, and the collar just wasn’t crisp enough for me. Yes, I know I have weird OCD. It happens. So after I flat ironed my hair, I sat down and ran it along the edges. It’s crazy how well it works in a pinch.

So there is a little tip from me to you. Do you have any secret fashion tips?

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink*
    October 23, 2011 8:42 pm

    I don’t have an iron/ironing board at this point in my adult life yet, so I’ll definitely just use this flatiron trick. Wrinkles bug me too — I usually just let the dry cleaners handle it.

    The only “trick” I can think of that I do a lot is rubbing the material together when there’s a white deodorant streak. Only thing that makes it disappear completely for me. Also, last minute outfit pinches usually always involve leggings.

Leave a Reply

