Skip to content

The multi-tasking MVP

October 31, 2011

OK. So I broke down and bought some new clothes. But in my defense, I bought said clothes to help me out with making the stuff in my closet work for me. How can I rationalize this? Let me show you.

IMAG0269(Dress: Forever 21. Long sleeve tee: Target. Tights: We Love Colors. Shoes: Steve Madden)

The purchase was two long sleeve tees, one in white and one in black. I sometimes find myself looking at my closet and being like, man, I wish I had a shirt to layer underneath some of my sleeveless tops and dresses. I also wanted them to be scoop neck as opposed to V neck. For some reason, layering a V neck under a scoop neck always looks weird to me. Then again, I am OCD.

So I bought this dress about three years ago to wear to a friend’s birthday party in June. It was a great summer going-out dress. It had sparkle. It was great. But I hadn’t really worn it a lot since. It is a little short to wear to work. I layered it over jeans in the winter with a cardigan, but other than that, it just didn’t get much use. Last week, I grabbed it to toss it in my giveaway pile, but balked. I felt it would look super cute with a black layer underneath. So to Target I went. They were 12 bucks a piece and I’m pretty happy with my purchase. I love this outfit. I love the taupe and black. A friend of mine also said that wearing tights adds two inches to any skirt, and I like that rule. This is definitely going to be a work staple for me this winter.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 12:26 pm

    Good for you for keeping that dress — it’s gorgeous and I love the sparkle detailing. I’ve also been relying on tights for adding inches to my dresses; I don’t really want to stop wearing them just because it’s colder 🙂

Leave a Reply

