Skip to content

Bespectacled

November 8, 2011

New flashed: I wear glasses. Well, I mostly wear contacts, but on occasion, I enjoy wearing glasses. It is just nice to give my eyes a break from contacts sometimes. I have a pair that I really like that I got a few years ago, but I decided that I wanted to try something different. The first place I went to look was the ever popular Warby Parker.

Warby Parker frames are quite popular among the blogosphere. And it’s a pretty cool concept. It’s similar to Toms where you buy a pair and they give a pair to someone in need. But what I liked was that you can get five pairs sent to you (for free, shipping both ways included) so you can try them on and see how they look. So I picked out my five and eagerly awaited. When they arrived, these two were my favorites.

Screen shot 2011-11-08 at 9.56.58 AM

Screen shot 2011-11-08 at 9.57.26 AM(Top is Wiloughby, bottom is Pierce)

So I just had to pick one of these, right? Well. Not exactly. While I was waiting for my home try on frames to show up, I read a blog post over on Caffinerd about how she used Glasses USA to order a new pair of glasses. Being curious, I wandered on over and started looking. First thing I noticed was the amazing deals. Most of the frames were less than $100 bucks, frames included. AND they were having a 50 percent off sale. So I browsed. I immediately fell in love with these.

0114_UThey are called the Noah Gray. They are similar to Pierce from Warby Parker. But then is started thinking that these looked pretty similar to the glasses I already had. If I was going to break my habit and get new glasses, I should go outside of what I usually get. Then I found these bad boys.

Screen shot 2011-11-08 at 10.05.42 AMI’ve been big in to tortoise lately, not sure why. Both my sunglasses and my watch are tortoise. So why not embrace a pair of tortoise glasses? So I bought them. For 40 bucks. Including shipping. But without trying them on. Which made me nervous. So I waited, eagerly anticipating their arrival. Yesterday was the big day.

Photo on 2011-11-08 at 09.40

Sorry for the weird computer glare on the frames. And for the awkward quasi office shot. But these are the new frames, and I love them. Yes, they are kinda hipster, but you know what, I am going to be a poseur for the time being. But I highly recommend that site (and no, I am not like affiliated with them or anything). But if you need new glasses for cheap, look there.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink*
    November 8, 2011 10:36 am

    Love those frames and this post!

    My only gripe with Warby Parker and similar sites — which probably affects maybe .1% of the population — is that they do not make frames beyond a -10.00 prescription. I am blind as a bat and am at -13.00 (I know) so I had to get special treatment at Sol Moscot, which costs a pretty penny. I’m currently wearing a pair of black Vera Wangs, similar in shape to the Noah Grays.

  2. November 15, 2011 2:17 am

    The Noah Gray and Pierce are my favorite! For my face they would look the best but I think the glasses you ended up with are perfect for you! The tortoise shell pops off your face perfectly and the shape looks great too! For 40 bucks you cant beat them! Great job picking out a great pair of glasses that look fantastic on you!

Trackbacks

  1. Winter Running Essentials | Healthy Happier Bear

Leave a Reply

