Skip to content

Why hello there

December 20, 2011

Yes. We have all been absent for quite some time. I cannot make excuses for everyone else, but I sure can make excuses for myself! I kid. Kinda.

It has been a busy month or so since I last posted. Went to ATL for Thanksgiving for six days and did a bunch of wedding stuff (wedding planning is really time consuming…who knew?). My BFF Jess came to visit for a few days. Been shopping and preparing for the holidays. And working. A ton. Who knew that December was such a busy time for features? Oh yea…there are about 12 movies premiering in 10 days…but I digress.

I have still been wearing clothes, of course. I actually did a closet purge over the weekend and got rid of two bags of clothes. Yet my closet is still packed. I saw something on Pinterest that said at the beginning of the year, turn all your hangers one way, and when you wear something, turn them back the other way. Then anything you haven’t worn in the first six months, get rid of. I’m not quite sure if I am going to subscribe to that notion, but I am definitely going to be more conscious of the clothes I am wearing and not wearing.

I’m currently reading this book called “The Happiness Project” (I’ve also been reading a lot…nerd alert). Now before you ask, yes, I am happy, but this book is still rather eye-opening. In the first chapter, the author goes through her apartment and purges a lot of her clothes. She cites studies that say people sometimes get overwhelmed with too many choices (with clothing in particular) and then feel guilty when they don’t use the items enough. I know I am guilty of this. I feel as though if I don’t wear something many times, I wasted the money, which can be overwhelming when you add it all up in your head. That being said, I didn’t purge a ton, but I did jettison some items I’ve had for almost 10 years, so I feel as if that is a good step.

Moving on, here is what I am wearing today.

IMAG0320

Sweater: Target. Dress (as a skirt): Vintage. Tights: We Love Colors. Belt: Forever 21. Boots: Target.

I’d been trying to find a work-appropriate way to wear this dress for awhile. It is one of my favorite summer pieces, but I never could think of a way to transition it. Bring on the tights, boots and a sweater. And I enjoy it…it is also very comfy. Maybe I will take a nap under my desk.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    December 21, 2011 6:06 pm

    Love this outfit!

Leave a Reply

