Skip to content

The deal with sweatpants

December 21, 2011

As an owner of several pairs of sweatpants, I wanted to give my opinion on this Piperlime ad campaign.

Piperlime, an online retailer owned by GAP,  has been distributing PSA-esque advertisements on coffee sleeves throughout New York, warning women that if they wear sweatpants, they’ll be single forever.

For some, (Piperlime Ad Tells Sweatpants-Wearing Women They’ll Send Men Running) this ad campaign is a little offensive, and notes that most men don’t find sweatpants unattractive, and don’t really care what you’re wearing. True.

I actually had a conversation with someone recently about my style evolution with sweatpants.

In Georgia, wearing sweatpants while running errands was no big deal. Especially in your college years, I can’t think of a more appropriate Sunday, I’m-going-to-Target outfit than sweatpants and your sorority’s latest T-shirt (or your newspaper’s, in my case). This wasn’t something to be ashamed of. They’re comfortable, and sometimes they’re kind of cute! And you’re probably hungover! Who cares?

In New York, I can count the number of times on one hand I’ve left my apartment in sweatpants, and most of those were when I was horribly sick and just needed to get to the pharmacy. The reason for this is for the most part, New Yorkers are incredibly visual, wardrobe-conscious people. Even at your worst, you’re expected to throw on a little makeup and put something a little matchy-matchy together. It’s sometimes exhausting.

But, I kind of like that living here forces me to think about what I’m putting on everyday. Albeit super comfortable, sweatpants are lazy. I guess the offensiveness of this campaign comes in when it suggests that you’re only dressing to attract the opposite sex. Please, Betsey Johnson says it best:  “Girls do not dress for boys. They dress for themselves, and of course, each other. If girls dressed for boys, they’d just walk around naked at all times.”

Bottom line: I love my sweatpants at home, but I agree that they should stay there. As for what men think about it … irrelevant?

Happy holidays — I will be wearing my sweatpants at home for days.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

