Skip to content

The tops of 2011

December 27, 2011

As I was budgeting out my section for tomorrow, I realized…I think it’s time to do my best of the year list. Last year, I went all out and made a video. The year before, I cranked out about 12 favorite picks. This year was a little harder. It wasn’t that I didn’t buy enough things (trust me, I bought PLENTY) or that I didn’t love what I got, it was just really hard for me to narrow it down. There were a few things that immediately jumped out to me, but there were others that I required me to go through all of my posts from the year and narrow it down. I came up with five, and I think that’s a nice concise list to round out the year.

The first are these jeans.

Screen shot 2011-12-27 at 9.59.16 AM

I call these my magic jeans. They are the Skinny Mini Flare from Old Navy. Why are they magic jeans you ask? Well, they seriously make your legs look ridiculously long (and skinny to boot). I’m only 5′ 3″, so anything that can make me seem taller works for me. Every time I wear these jeans, I get compliments. I have them in two colors (of course, not the color above, which I might have to go procure), and they have replaced my skinny jeans and jeggings as my go-to jean.

IMAG0327.jpg

The next is my Pandora bracelet. This was a graduation present from my parents, and I’ve worn it pretty much everyday since I got it. When they gave it to me, it had five charms on it: the present, the stack of books (nerd alert), the graduation cap, the football (obviously) and the tea pot. This past weekend, I added the cupcake, the little Buddha and the pink glass charm. I had another charm bracelet growing up, but never wore it. I don’t know what it is about these Pandora bracelets, but I just love mine so much. I also love how these charms perfectly describe me: I’m a huge nerd (duh) who loves football and cupcakes; I drink a lot of tea and I try to be as zen as possible at all times. Boom.

Photo on 2011-11-08 at 09.40

Then come these glasses. I blogged about them and how I got them off the internet for a ridiculous price. I wear them almost every night, so it didn’t occur to me to include them. But I love them. Each time I put them on, I just love them even more.

The next one I think is pretty obvious. If you learned one thing about me all year, what was it? Oh yea, I’m obsessed with all clothes with stripes.

IMAG0187

This was the beginning of my stripe obsession, which I blogged back in July. Since then, I have probably added at least six more striped shirts and a striped shirt dress. Yea. I had (well still have) a problem. I don’t know what it is about stripes, but I still love them. I think it is an easy pattern to wear for most people. It is hard for me to pick a favorite, but I’d have to say either the pink and gray striped one above (from Zara) or this short sleeved navy and white top from Forever 21.

I had some pretty good thrifting finds this year. I only went a few times, but whenever I went, I found piece that I love. So here are a few of my favorites.

IMAG0088

Jacket, via Goodwill.

IMAG0091

Navy blouse, via Salvation Army.

IMAG0208

Gray and navy striped top (duh), via Salvation Army.

So those are my top picks for the year. My New Year’s Resolution is to stop impulse buying…specifically online clothes shopping. I’m going to take my credit cards out of my wallet. That’s how serious I am. This whole getting married thing is sorta expensive…

Hope everyone had a happy holiday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2011 4:15 pm

    Don’t worry, there can never be too many stripes! Keep wearing em! Stripes are forever and always!

  2. Jenny permalink*
    December 30, 2011 11:09 am

    I love stripes too and all the magazines tell me I shouldn’t because they make you look wider or whatever. I don’t care!

Leave a Reply

