Skip to content

Your eyes are bigger than your … bedroom

February 8, 2012

This time last year, I shared my favorite go-to make-up products. A year later, not much has changed, but I finally decided to take the plunge and give primer a try.

Too-Faced Shadow Insurance Eyeshadow Primer, $18

The verdict? I dig.

I wasn’t losing sleep over the fact that my eyeshadow was creasing, especially because most of the time when I’m wearing eyeshadow I’m at a dimly lit bar and no one would know the difference. I’ve said before that it’s hard for me to spend money on something I don’t truly need, or think I need (hence why I had the same running shoes for three years) but now that I’ve spent the $18, I don’t regret the decision. My eyeshadow application looks about the same at 5 pm as it did at 9 am, so, in the words of Larry David, prettay, prettay good.

Too Faced Natural At Night Eye Palette, $36

I don’t know what the hell happened to my favorite eyeshadow ever — Too-Faced eyeshadow duo in Totally Toasted. I must’ve gone through four of those things over the past few years, and I can’t find it anywhere now! Was it discontinued?! The same thing happened with a MAC lipstick I loved. Devastating. (White. Girl. Problems.) Anyway, I found this palette as a replacement and all is well now because I’m obsessed. The “Natural At Night” color palette is supposed to be sexy/sultry, but I wear it as a base during the workday and then darken it up if I decide to go to happy hour. I don’t really feel it’s inappropriate for the office if you omit the glitter or keep it to a minimum.

I like a simple Fashion + Nightcap + Cocoa Star during the workday (note: no glitter, nobody wants a Ke$ha at a status meeting), and for night-time, an incredibly inventive Night + Night Fever. I might mix Classic+ Eclipse this Tuesday for Valentine’s Day (which is also my 25th birthday, no big deal) otherwise I’m not really a pink eyeshadow kind of girl.

In other news, I recently moved from the East Village to Gramercy. In upcoming months, I’m going to be applying everything I’ve learned from hours spent watching HGTV to my new cute, but super-small bedroom, and sharing the results here. I’m determined to make the most of the space I’ve got rather than complain about it (work in progress). New York is wonderful but one of the major cons is sacrificing the massive space you could have living anywhere else in the country. Ergh. If you have any suggestions in the mean time for making the most out of small spaces, please pass them along. I’ve already discovered the joys of Wonder Hangers and the miracle that is 7-inch bed risers.

This is me in my new apartment. Source: http://animalstalkinginallcaps.tumblr.com/

The Wonder Hanger, as seen on TV.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 11:04 am

    Too Faced Shadow Insurance is my favorite primer, it’s awesome.

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 10, 2012 11:08 am

      Yes! I love it. I wish the tube was a little bigger for $18 though…

  2. February 14, 2012 12:49 pm

    I wish there was a good drugstore brand primer. I dropped $$$ on a MAC one that just does not do the trick, so I’m skeptical about the other expensive ones! Have you tried others before that you could compare to the Too Faced one?

    • Jenny permalink*
      February 21, 2012 11:04 am

      I think drugstores are going to catch on and start carrying affordable brands of primer, tinted moisturizer, etc. — they’re just getting way too popular for a company like CoverGirl or Maybelline to not take advantage.

      I’ve never tried Mac’s version, I know Urban Decay’s “Primer Potion” is good and lasts you a while. I believe it’s about $17.

  3. Kathleen permalink
    March 3, 2012 7:08 pm

    Off topic, but you mentioned eye primer and eye shadow: Do you have any tips or tricks for eyeliner removal? I rarely wear it, but when I do it seems to stick with me for days after despite swiping my lids and lashes with eye makeup remover.

    • Jenny permalink*
      March 13, 2012 3:39 am

      I had such a hard time finding an eye makeup remover that works and doesn’t leave my face oily. I use Neutrogena’s liquid eye makeup remover. Usually, if I dab some toilet paper with a quarter size of it, it gets all of the makeup off, including eyeliner. My next guess would be to use a Q-tip dabbed in remover and (carefully!) trying to remove eyeliner smudge. Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. How to embrace your small space « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

