Skip to content

Flat Out Comfort

February 28, 2012

Since my job often requires me to run around a school campus and occasionally crawl on the floor shooting photos, it’s become a very rare occasion that I wear heels anymore. Let’s be real, I was never much of a heel person anyway (in terms of comfort), but when I knew I’d be planted behind my desk all day, I was more likely to wear them.

This situation makes good flats even more crucial — especially black flats. Not too long ago, I searched at DSW for some nice black flats to no avail. And just by chance I was perusing my local Plato’s Closet when I came across these Meronas, originally from Target.

I can’t wear them every day because they are a little stiff around the heels, but they are adorable! And for $7, they do the job.

And I finally jumped whole heartedly on the TOMS bandwagon. I love the work the company does, and the shoes are super comfortable. If I had my way I’d wear these every day.

I started with the gray, and I’m already trying to decide what color I want next. Any suggestions?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink*
    March 1, 2012 9:35 am

    I love TOMs! At Urban Outfitters they offer the full collection with some funky designs. I’ve been tempted to buy the sparkly silver pair. For now, I still have my black TOMs and they seem to go with everything.

    If you ever want to really splurge, I’ve mentioned here before that Cole Haan flats are fantastic, they’re built with the same Nike material that’s used for running shoes. I got them discounted though; I can’t imagine justifying spending more than $150 on shoes, even if they’re amazing!

    • Melanie permalink*
      March 2, 2012 8:10 am

      Ooh, thanks for the tip! I never go to Urban Outfitters, so I didn’t even know they had them.

  2. Kathleen permalink
    March 3, 2012 7:04 pm

    I live in my TOMS. I own an array of colors, so just go with what will work best with your wardrobe. However, let me warn that the herringbone seems to fit a little more loosely than the canvas, so take that into consideration when purchasing.

    • Melanie permalink*
      March 6, 2012 12:48 pm

      Good to know. Thanks for the advice!!

  3. March 5, 2012 11:17 am

    I just got a pair of Merona “Comfort” flats from target.com. I think they were $20? I’m skeptical of buying “comfort” shoes online w/o trying them first but the reviews were great. They are AWESOME. Perfect for walking around the city this spring/summer/fall and I don’t think they’ll fall apart as quickly as some other flats I’ve bought from Target.

    • Melanie permalink*
      March 6, 2012 12:51 pm

      Cool! I’ll have to check those out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

