Skip to content

Great lengths

March 30, 2012

I love maxi dresses. Like it is pretty insane. They are so versatile. You can just wear them on their own. You can dress them up. You can lounge around the house in it on the weekend. Love. The three I own are pretty much the only clothing I am bringing with me on my honeymoon (that and six bathing suits).

And I love wearing them to work. I told this to one of my co-workers and she was in disbelief. I think some people think you can’t wear a maxi dress to work. Now of course, this all depends on the dress code in your office. I am lucky enough to work in an office where I don’t have to wear a suit everyday. So I have a bit of leeway with my fashion choices, as long as those choices don’t involve jeans.

I had been wanting to wear a maxi dress to work all winter, but I hadn’t gotten around to it. I’ve worn them in the past during the summer, but for some reason, I wasn’t sure if they translated. Now granted it isn’t technically winter anymore, here is what I am wearing today.

photo

Maxi dress (as a skirt): Old Navy. Top: Express via swap. Belt: Forever 21. Necklace: Forever 21. Shoes: Steve Madden. Watch: Target.

I feel like I am wearing pajamas and I love that I am still dressed appropriately for work. This is more wearing a maxi dress as a skirt than just as a dress, but in the past, I’ve worn them with blazers or cardigans.

Have you ever worn a maxi dress to work?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2012 10:52 am

    I wear maxi dresses (and skirts) to work all summer long. Just throw a cardigan over it and who cares?

  2. Jenny permalink*
    March 30, 2012 6:20 pm

    Confession: I own zero maxi dresses. I feel frumpy in them — but maybe I just haven’t found “the one” yet. Maybe that’s next on my shopping to-do list.

    I think they’re super cute on others and definitely appropriate for work with a jean jacket/cardigan.

  3. Melanie permalink*
    April 3, 2012 9:05 am

    I agree with Jenny. Granted, I haven’t tried one on yet, but at 5’4″, I’m afraid they’ll all be too long. And there’s also the frumpy factor where curves are involved.

    I love how you belted this outfit though—great way to give shape to it.

Leave a Reply

