Skip to content

An investment

April 16, 2012

I did something this weekend that I hadn’t done up until this point: I made an investment in my closet.

My shopping usually revolves around quantity rather than quality. Sure, I get lucky at the thrift store with a find from Ann Taylor or the Gap, but I mostly pick up a lot of no-name labels while I am there. The majority of my closet is made up of items from Target and Forever 21. I made a pledge awhile ago to start buying fewer, high quality pieces that I would get a lot of wear out of, and this weekend, I made a step in the right direction. And I did it in a really thrifty way.

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine was telling be about how she went to this pop-up personal shopping party. How it worked was that a personal shopper, April, asked everyone who attended the party to fill out a profile sheet and she would then pick out a few items for each person based on how they filled it out. My friend raved about the items she purchased, so I told her next time something like that came up, let me know. Lucky for me, she was hosting a party herself soon.

I filled out the profile sheet with basic information like my sizes etc, but April also asked which celebrity’s wardrobe we most admired and how would you describe your personal style. It shouldn’t surprise anyone that the celebrity I picked was Kate Middleton (I mean really, have you seen her closet? I would sleep in there.) I described my style as classic with a vintage twist and told her I enjoyed bright colors when appropriate.

So pop-party day rolled around on Sunday and I am not going to say I wasn’t nervous. I knew that the things she would bring would be on the higher end of the price scale, and I didn’t want to feel obligated to buy anything unless I was really in love with the piece. But I went in with an open mind.

The party began. It was me and four other women. April took us one by one and showed us what she picked out for us and we each did a little fashion show. It was quite a bit of fun. It came to be my turn and she pulled out a dress she had picked and, spoiler alert, I ended up taking it home with me.

photo 2
tumblr_lnmdiuz6JK1qac1r3

The top picture didn’t really do it justice, but this is what it looks like on a model. It’s a navy lace dress by Tahari and it was pretty much amazing. It’s a great dress to wear to work or to dress it up for a night out.

I had one piece, and after trying on the rest of the pieces she picked for me, I started to peruse the rack of clothing she brought on my own. I saw this top, tried it on, and put it in my “keep” section of the rack.

photo 1

Again more lace, this time of the ivory variety. I don’t remember who the top is by…but it felt awesome on.

At this point, I was pretty satisfied with my choices — in what I had picked and how much it was going to end up costing me. But I continued to look and I’m glad I did, because I found this gem.

photo 3

This jacket is by Michael Kors, and as soon as I saw it, I wanted it and didn’t care what size it was. I was going to make it work. Lucky for me, it fit perfectly. It’s hard to say it is my favorite piece of the bunch, but it is a pretty close tie between this and the navy dress.

The evening came to a close and I was ready to see the damage I had done. Because April has access to a certain supply of clothing, she can get us these items at 50 to 60 percent off of what they actually cost. I got all three of these items for the cost of how the Michael Kors jacket’s retail value. I consider that to be a get of epic proportions. Was it expensive? Yes. But totally worth it in my mind.

I’m wearing the jacket today, and while on some level I am worried that someone on the Metro will spill something on me (or I will spill something on myself), wearing this piece makes me feel put together. Safe to say I will probably be calling on April and her services in the near future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink*
    April 16, 2012 5:22 pm

    Um, I want to attend one of these parties!

    I love all three items! Especially the jacket.

Leave a Reply

