Skip to content

In with the new, part one

May 5, 2012

Last week I went on a small shopping spree.

I say small because the stores consisted of Ross and Goodwill, neither of which are traditionally bank-breakers. I spent about $40 at Ross on a pair of pink shorts, two shirts for work, and a work dress, and I spent about $20 at Goodwill on four shirts, most of which can work for either work or every day.

Why did I go on a “spree?” you may ask. Well, I found that every day while getting dressed was turning into an “I hate all of my clothes” day. So I’m still in the middle of doing an overhaul of my wardrobe—basically getting rid of clothes I don’t see myself wearing again. Many of these items are things I wore in college and they now seem too young for me (as I near my 25th birthday).

Although I know that is still technically young, many of the items, which are perfect for a 19-year-old college student, simply aren’t the look I’m going for any more. That said, I’ll write more soon about my process of going through my closet and potentially selling items to Plato’s Closet.

Now, without further delay, here are some of the items I’ve worn so far (when I’ve also snapped a photo):

With my beloved bluebonnets
Pink shorts: Calvin Klein via Ross
Blue top: Merona via Goodwill

Last week, Matt and I spent a four-day weekend in Texas visiting friends and family in Houston and family in the Hill Country (west of San Antonio). It was wonderful to see everyone and to visit Texas again, but it was kind of an exhausting trip with so much traveling. I hadn’t been to Texas in five years, so I wanted to fit everything in to our time there—including Texas BBQ for Matt and two full meals of Tex-Mex for me.

Red top (which is actually sleveless): Ross (from aforementioned spree)
White cardigan: Target
Gray pants: Old Navy
Black flats: Merona (Target)

This was a very comfortable outfit for work, and I love the pop of color from the new shirt.

Dress: Ross
Sandals: Merona (Target)

What I love most about this dress is that it is different from anything I already owned. I’ve never really been one for animal prints, and I’m not really sure why. But I’ve fallen for this dress—the fun print, the flattering shape, and it’s light and comfortable.

So those are half of my new items from my “spree.” More to come!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2012 2:44 pm

    Loving the pink shorts!

    -Ashley
    whatisatwist.blogspot.com

    • Melanie permalink*
      May 23, 2012 2:49 pm

      Thanks! I wear them entirely too much on the weekend now. I want a pair of shorts in a fun print, like your “pajama” shorts! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. In with the new, part two « Thrifty Threads
  2. Out with the old « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

