Skip to content

Back in the swing of things

May 21, 2012

photo

(Dress (as skirt) Rag o Rama. Shirt: Kohls. Necklace: World Market. Flats: Steve Madden)

I look like a work-appropriate ballerina today. Well, at least in my head. It must be something about the flouncy skirt. I got this dress back on our Thrifty Threads shopping adventure a few years ago (I think it was two years ago…but I lose track of time quite often). I am making a point to go through my closet and see if I can make the stuff I already own work in a way which I like. I’ve worn this dress before just as a dress…and was never to thrilled with it. But I am liking this combo today. We’ll see if it is good enough to secure its place in the closet.

Oh yea. So in other news. I got married a few weeks ago. Hurray. It was great to have a few Thrifty Threaders in attendance (much love to Shannon and Melanie).

Now I’m not going to bore you with endless tales of how I was thrifty on my wedding day (which I tried to be). If you want to read a lot about budget weddings and DIY, I suggest you check out Wedding Bee. But I am going to share a few of the money saving things I was most proud of during our wedding planning process.

First was my dress.

581199_10150763872196938_766307869_n

That’s my HUSBAND. Ain’t he cute? Moving on. I didn’t have any real ideas of what I wanted before I started to look for dresses. When my mom came up from Atlanta to look at dresses on weekend, I was dead set on picking a dress with her there, so I didn’t want to be bridal salon hopping. So I went to the one-stop-shop that is David’s Bridal. I stalked their website trying to narrow it down to a few dresses I was interested in. I knew that I liked lace. And natural waistline. So I tried on a variety of dresses before having the total bridal-crying moment when I put this dress on. It wasn’t designed with a sweetheart neckline, but I was able to get that done via alterations. And I’m thrilled with how it came out. I won’t tell you exactly how much it cost…but I will say…think about the dresses on Say Yes to the Dress and subtract about 70 percent of the cost from those. Haha. My mom wants me to try and sell it, but I think I am going to try to donate it to one of those secondhand-dress charities in my area.

Aside from my dress, the one other thing we saved a lot on was paper products. Prior to being an editor, I was a graphic designer at my current paper and in college. So I knew immediately I was going to design my own invitations. It was just a question of where I was going to get them printed. Luckily, the internet is a mecca for finding this stuff out. I ended up using Cat Print to do our save the dates and invitation suite. I also designed my brother and sister-in-law’s wedding invites and they used Cat Print as well. I cannot say enough good things about the company. They operate online only, but employees were available when I needed to actually speak with someone and they shipped quickly. If I had paid for a profession invitation designer and printer to create the exact same invitation suite, it would have been an exorbitant amount of money. It was probably the best deal of the entire wedding.

So that is all I will talk about the wedding for now. Of course I could go on and on but I will spare you. The next project I am tackling is taking one of my friends thrifting for the first time. That is an experience I will definitely share here. So stay tuned.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

