Skip to content

New slang

June 1, 2012

Before I get in to the thick of this post…let me show you what I am wearing today.

photo

Top: Target. Crops: Old Navy. Tank: F21. Flats: Steve Madden. Necklace: World Market

Now what I am wearing today is somewhat relevant to the gist of this post. This top, purchased two weekends ago from Target (along with one other) represent the last of my frivolous clothes purchases.

What do I mean my frivolous clothes purchases? Let me explain. I’ve talked countless, COUNTLESS times in the past on this blog about limiting my clothing purchases. I have too many clothes as it is (a co-worker of mine has pointed out twice that I never repeat outfits. While this could be a testament as to how well I can remix my closet, I think it is actually a sign of the unnecessary amounts of clothes I own). I love shopping. I might be a shopaholic. But I’ve realized I need to be more deliberate in my purchases. I need to think ahead about what I really want or need and make a sound choice rather than just go on a spree.

One way I am hoping to curb my shopping is by imposing a budget on myself. I have never really had a clothing budget before. I be honest, I never really actively budget anything in my life. I try to spend below a certain amount on groceries each week. I try to limit the amount of times I go get coffee or grab lunch during the workweek. But now that I am married and in theory we are saving for a house (and our next big vacation — a trip to Europe), I figure I should start take this savings thing a bit more seriously. It is not just me anymore — I have a husband and, in the future, I will have children. Better to get into this frame of mind now than have a tough transition down the road.

This just means if there is something I really want (i.e. I think I am getting close to purchasing a pair of TOMS) I will have to factor that in to my budget. If I cannot afford it one month, I just need to wait until the next month. Waiting has never been my strong suit, so I will be interested to see how this all goes. It will also make me think twice before making impulse buys at Target or popping in to JCrew after work. The caveat I have for this is that I will allow myself to buy “staples,” which mainly means underwear, or new tanks or Ts if needed, and not include them in my monthly budget.

Do you have a budget for clothing? Do you stick to it?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink*
    June 1, 2012 10:16 am

    I need to be better about this too. Just yesterday, I popped into Ross to look for a new swimsuit (almost nonexistent selection, by the way), and walked out with two new skirts (and no swimsuit).

    Do buy the TOMS though. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

