Skip to content

Out with the old

June 4, 2012

Though not nearly as exciting as a bra fitting, this weekend I finally cleared out some closet space I’ve been working on for months. I have to say, it’s a relief to get rid of clothes sometimes.

A few months ago (around the time it really got warm), I started to get “shopping fever.” I love shopping for cute summer dresses, florals, and strappy sandals. Although those are my favorites, I have tried to reign myself in and primarily add staples that function for both work and play.

Sure I bought some new Target sandals (my favorite Madden Girl sandals broke recently) and a new dress for my upcoming Caribbean trip. But as I’ve been adding items to my wardrobe, I’ve also been weeding out.

I was noticing all too often that, despite all the clothes I had, I couldn’t seem to put together an original outfit, and too many of my clothes were collecting dust on the hangers. So each morning while getting dressed, as I passed an item I couldn’t remember last wearing, I pulled it out and hung it on my door. Then I challenged myself to either wear each of these items or get rid of them.

Thus began the giveaway pile.

I attempted to sell five dresses, three skirts, 10 shirts, five pairs of jeans, one pair of wedges, and a bag of assorted jewelry at Plato’s Closet. Although I’m happy to have the $23 the store paid me for about six items (one pair jeans, three dresses—one a BCBG Max Azria I’d thrifted, and a couple other items I can’t remember), it’s annoying to take in so many perfectly nice, in style, name brand clothes and have them turned away as if they’re worthless.

Based on my last experience attempting to sell at Plato’s Closet, I’d come prepared with specifically Goodwill donations. So I added my Plato’s Closet rejects and stopped at Goodwill on my way home. The people at Goodwill are always so nice. </Plato’s Closet rant>

All in all, it’s great knowing I was able to dispose of 24+ items from my wardrobe. I wish I’d been able to part with a little more, but on the bright side, I rediscovered a few pieces that were saved from donation.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Yeah permalink
    June 5, 2012 11:14 am

    I totally need to clean out my closet as well. I will probably bypass Plato’s and go straight to Goodwill. I also had a bad experience last time I was there trying to sell my clothes – they were less than kind.

  2. June 6, 2012 10:41 am

    A good spring closet purge feels so satisfying. Frees up more, too 😉 Love the blog!

    • Melanie permalink*
      June 6, 2012 10:48 am

      Absolutely! More room for future thrifting. 😉 Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. Let’s talk skirts « Thrifty Threads

Leave a Reply

