Skip to content

Let’s talk skirts

June 7, 2012
by

While sorting through my clothes this spring, in preparation for my closet purge, I discovered at least several of my skirts were all wrong in terms of fit. This skirt is one of them.

So what is so wrong with these skirts?

What you can’t see in that photo is that it rides on the hips rather than the waist. So unless I was also wearing a very fitted top (and really, even then), it wasn’t the most flattering fit.

Instead, I’ve focused on skirts that fit at my natural waist, and unless I’m wearing a pretty short shirt and a very casual look, the top is tucked in.

(Clockwise from top left)
1) Skirt: Anthropologie via Plato’s Closet, Top: Cynthia Rowley via Beacon’s Closet in Williamsburg, Shoes: Target
2) Skirt: Old Navy via Plato’s Closet, Top: Goodwill, Sandals: Target, Bag: Target, Necklace: Plato’s Closet, Sunglasses: Marshalls
3) Skirt: Old Navy, Top: Ann Taylor via Goodwill, Sandals: Target
4) Skirt: from Shannon, Top: Express via Goodwill, Cardigan: Target, Shoes: Target

Do you have any tips for skirt shopping and styling?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 11:49 am

    I’d recommend wearing heals with a skirt of that length.

Leave a Reply

