Skip to content

Work out and dress the part for cheap(er)

July 17, 2012

Do you play a sport? Have an exercise hobby? If so, you know how expensive athletic-wear can be.

(Left) Post-Peachtree; (Right) New running top and shorts from Marshall’s

On the Fourth of July, I ran the Peachtree Road Race — an annual tradition in Atlanta — and while training, I wore the same outfit every time I ran. Meaning I had to wash them every couple of days or sometimes I even ran in the same outfit without washing it. Gross, I know. In fact, I can hardly get the shirt in the photo to the right to actually be white anymore. I did try this washing method I found on Pinterest, and although it helped considerably, it’s still not completely white again.

So over the weekend I went shopping for new running clothes. Rather than hitting specialty running stores or even chains such as Dick’s Sporting Goods or Sports Authority, I headed to Marshall’s.

When I was shopping there a few months ago, I noticed a large selection of athletics clothing at a low price. When I returned this weekend, I wondered if I’d actually find any “real” athletic brands. But there were plenty of Adidas, New Balance, Avia, and more.

This goes without saying, but ALWAYS try on workout clothes. And don’t just try them on, be sure to move around in them to make sure they fit and move comfortably. When I went to Marshall’s I actually wore my regular Adidas running shorts (yes, they were clean), and they served as a good frame of reference for the shorts I tried on.

I walked away with a new Avia sports bra ($13), two new running tops (pink, Pro-Fit: $10 and blue, Avia: $15), and a new pair of New Balance running shorts ($17). Now to put my new gear to use!

(Left) Avia sports bra; (Right) Pro-Fit top

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2012 7:37 pm

    That Avia sport bra looks great, love the colour!

    • Melanie permalink*
      July 17, 2012 8:35 pm

      Thanks! Me too; apparently blue was a predominant theme in my selections. 🙂

Leave a Reply

