Skip to content

Why I thrift

April 15, 2013

I went to a “thrift shop” party a week or so ago. Inspired by Macklemore’s ubiquitous hit, the idea was to find the most outrageous outfit you could at a thrift store and wear it to the party. Now we’ve all seen some crazy stuff at thrift stores, so it shouldn’t be a stretch to find something wacky. Old prom dresses. Pant suits. A variety of animal prints.

 While at the party, I overheard some people talking about their trips to the local thrift stores and joking about how there were a bunch of people who were there “shopping for real.” I was slightly taken aback. As someone who frequents thrift stores for clothing, I do realize there is a stigma that can be associated with it. And to be honest, there is a lot of not-so-desirable items among the racks. But if you search, you can find a bunch of great stuff. And that is why I do it.
 I love combing through the racks and pulling out the J Crew cardigan in great condition and buying it. Or taking home the Ann Taylor dress for 8 bucks that fits me perfectly. Now I could go in to the aforementioned stores and buy the items for full price, but the thrill of finding it for cheaper is why I keep going back to thrift stores. It isn’t because I can’t afford new things — it is because I genuinely enjoy the process. And it isn’t just the name brands that I love to buy. I have found some great off-brand pieces that have a regular place in my wardrobe.
For those reasons and many more, I will probably be a thrift store shopper for the rest of my life. And I will teach my kids the joy of thrifting as well.
While on that note, let me share what I picked up at Goodwill over the weekend. I popped in on Saturday to look for a tablecloth (which I did not find). But I did get a few tops and a pair of hot pink shorts.

photo 2
photo 1

All of these will get plenty of wear this summer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 15, 2013 8:30 pm

    I love this post! I totally agree- there is a certain stigma with “actually” shopping at a thrift store for you wardrobe, accessories, home, etc. But, like you said, patience pays off! Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

